If I Stay/Where She Went Duology Review: No spoilers!

If I Stay – Gayle Forman
 
Series: If I Stay, #1
 
Published: April 6th, 2010 by Speak

Source: Paperback (234 pages)

Summary: On a day just like any other… Mia had everything: a loving family, a gorgeous, adoring boyfriend, and a bright future full of music and full of choices. Then, in an instant, almost all of that is taken from her. Caught between life and death, between a happy past and an unknowable future, Mia spends one critical day contemplating the only decision she has left – the most important decision she’ll ever make.

Rating: 4 stars.

Thoughts:

 Okay, so this book is such an emotional rollercoaster. If you are anything like me at all, it will have you in tears from the beginning to the end. It is so touching. In good ways and in sensitive, bad ways. Thankfully I cannot relate to this story, otherwise, I do not think I could have made it through it. 

The writing is beautiful. I truly felt like I was in the mind of Mia. With a story like this, it could have been so easy to mess up or make seem unrealistic, but it was just so real. And I loved that, so much. I think that is what made me love this so much. Forman did such a wonderful job with this.

There was times when I could not put it down and times when I wanted to throw the book across the room. It was tragic, but hopeful at the same time. I loved it, cover to cover. It was an uplifting story, but also a story that makes you want to go and hug everyone you care about for about an hour each. Such a good read. Definitely recommend it!

Where She Went – Gayle Forman

Series: If I Stay, #2

Publication: April 5th, 2011 by Speak

Summary: It’s been three years since the devastating accident… three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever. Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is a rising star at Juilliard and Adam is a bona fide rock star, complete with tabloid headlines and a celebrity girlfriend. Then chance brings them together again, for one night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future – and to each other.

Rating: 4 stars. 

Thoughts:

Not AS good as If I Stay, but definitely worth the read if you are curious about what happened after the first book ended. The first half of the book was a little boring to me, but then it did pick up, and the ending was EXACTLY what I wanted. So, that made it worth the read.

The writing in this one was great. I just wish the entire book wouldn’t have been in Adam’s point of view.. I wanted to know how Mia felt all this time also. And you sort of get how she felt, but only through conversation, not necessarily through her own thoughts. I guess I was just a fan of Mia’s point of view in the first book. This is good, don’t get me wrong. I loved being able to see how each of their future’s developed and how they developed so differently.

I could not put the book down. I read it in only two sittings. Could have read it in one, but you know, sleep.. haha. I wanted to know what was going to happen and how it was going to end, so that kept me intrigued and kept me reading. I did not cry at all through this one, which was almost a disappointment being that I cried the entire time I read the first..  But it was nice to know what happened with Mia and Adam, so I am really glad that Forman did a sequel. I am also glad that this series is only a duology because the way it ended was perfect. No need to push it any further! 

As for the series, I definitely recommend it. It is a nice, quick, satisfying read! I could see myself picking these up again someday.

Thanks for reading! (:
 

 

2 thoughts on “If I Stay/Where She Went Duology Review: No spoilers!

Leave a Reply

