Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard Book Review! *No Spoilers!*

Hey friends! So, first of all.. Sorry for not posting for what seems like forever! I’ve been super busy at work, and could not find time. But, I’m back with a review for you!

Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard

Series: Red Queen, #1

Published: February 10th, 2015 by Orion

Source: Hardcover, 383pages

Summary: Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood – those with red and those with silver. Mare and her family are lowly Reds, destined to serve the Silver elite whose supernatural abilities make them nearly gods. Mare steaks what she can to help her family survive, but when her best friend is conscripted into the army she gambles everything to win his freedom. A twist of fate leads her to the royal palace itself, where, in front of the king and all his nobles, she discovers a power of her own- an ability she didn’t know she had. Except… her blood is Red. 
To hide this impossibility, the king forces her into the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks her new position to aid the Scarlet Guard- the leaders of a Red rebellion. Her actions put into motion a deadly and violent dance, pitting prince against prince- and Mare against her own heart. 

Rating: 4.5 stars!

Thoughts: 

This. book. Holy cow!

First of all, for a debut novel, slow clap Victoria Aveyard! This was fantastic. Such a great read. I loved so much the world in this book. It was interesting. The two separate blood colors and how that detail basically decided their lives for them was a very cool concept to me. And then of course, Mare finding herself as a “lost Silver princess” was awesome to see a Red in a Silver world. 

I have once complaint. And this complaint is the only thing that stood in the way of me giving this book 5 stars. And it is just that this book started off slow for me. It was not bad, at all, but it just took a second for me to good to that “Oh my gosh, I cannot stop reading” stage. I felt like it took me for. ev. er. to read this book. It didn’t though, not really, maybe a little over a week, but it felt longer than that. Like I said, the book was great. It just took a bit to pick up. 

I liked the characters. I felt like Mare grew a lot as a character. Along with the others. There was one character that I didn’t even feel like their presence was necessary, like they didn’t add anything to the story and would not have been missed if they never existed.. haha. Hopefully this character will either grow in the series or just go away.

I did like the romance in the book. I almost wanted more of it. It was a very small piece of the book, not a huge big part, which I liked because it was nice to read a book that focuses on the plot rather than getting off on the lovey-dovey side track. Butttt I do kinda hope to see a little more romance in the second installment!

Aveyard kept me wanting to read more, especially toward the end because THAT PLOT TWIST THOUGH. Oooohhhh my gosh. I had to pick my jaw up off of the floor, like three times. Hahaha. But.. really. I never really saw it coming, which is nice. It is always frustrating when I can predict the ending of a book. I knew that something was going to happen, but I wasn’t sure what. And what I did think it could be was so far off from what it actually was. I mean, really, guys. Mind=Blown. Awesome.

So yes,  I definitely recommend this book! I am excited for Glass Sword, book #2, which I believe comes out in February 2016…? I think. Don’t hold me to it. (:

Make sure to leave comments, thought, suggestions in the comments!

Thanks for reading! (:


 

Leave a Reply

