Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine’s #3) Book Review! *Spoiler free!*

Library of Souls – Ransom Riggs

Series: Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #3

Published: September 22, 2015 by Quirk Books

Source: Hardcover, 458 pages

Summary: The adventure that began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and continued in Hollow City comes to a thrilling conclusion with Library of Souls.

As the story opens, sixteen-year-old Jacob discovers a powerful new ability, and soon he’s diving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children. They’ll travel from modern-day London to the labyrinthine alleys of Devil’s Acre, the most wretched slum in all of Victorian England. It’s a place where the fate of peculiar children everywhere will be decided once and for all. Like it’s predecessors, Library of Souls blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-publised photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience.  

Rating: 4 stars

Thoughts: WAHHHHH! I am so sad that this crazy, wonderful, peculiar story is over. 

First, let’s talk about the cover. And not the one above, but the actual hardback cover. It is BEAUTIFUL! I wish I would have taken a photo to post. It would not have done it justice either way though. It is this mint green color, with all of the main peculiar children’s signatures in silver. So pretty! People should be talking about it more.

I will say that this book is much slower than the other two. It took me much longer to read than I wanted it to. It almost took me two weeks, which is not a while, but for me, it is. BUT, it was good. I just felt like the atmosphere of this book was different than the previous two.  Not a bad different, but not the same.. I guess. It’s hard to describe it.

I do feel like Jacob’s character grew in this book. His newly discovered ability was really neat, and definitely added to the story. We got plenty of Emma and Jacob in this one, but I really wanted to see more of the other peculiar children that were big parts of the previous two books. I also wanted to meet some new interesting peculiars. We saw very few new children, and that made me a little sad. That was what I loved most about the last two, learning about all the different sorts of peculiars.

Okay, for the good things. I promise I did like this book a lot! Haha. I liked the eerie-ness of this book. It was a neat change from the past two. They’re all creepy, but this one is much darker. There was a plot twist, a sort of minor one, but still, I did not see it coming. The story was well-developed, and the writing was great as always. 

The photographs! Love. I think they are what really drew me in to this trilogy in the first place. It was just such an interesting added bonus to this already wonderful story. It really allowed the reader to see exactly what the author wanted us to, and that was just so fascinating to me!
 
THE ENDING! Oh my gosh, yet another plot twist, giant this time, though! Wow. I am in love with the way this ended. It was exactly what I wanted!!! I want so badly to spoil it and just gush over it right now, but I won’t for those of you who have not read this! But oh my goshhhhhh. asdfghjklasdfghjkl!!! That’s all I’ll say. (:

I recommend this, obviously, so much. Ransom Riggs is an amazing author. I plan on reading every single thing his hand scribbles out. 

So, yeah, go read it!

Thanks for reading! (:

 

Leave a Reply

