Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon Book Review. *NO SPOILERS*

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Published: September 1, 2015 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Source: Hardcover, 310 pages

Summary: My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.Β 

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean, and wearing all black – black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.Β 

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Rating: 5 stars.

Thoughts: Absolutely wonderful. I loved this book so much! I read this book in FOUR hours, in one sitting. Literally. Could not put it down. I did not even know this was Nicola’s debut novel, and when I read the back cover after I finished the book, I was in total shock! That is how good this book is!

I loved the main character so much! Madeline, or Maddy, is such a cute, funny girl. I felt like I connected with her. Not because I can relate to anything that is going on with her, but just because this book was so well written that I felt like I was, like, her. Hahaha. The boy, Olly, was also such a good character. The relationship between Olly and Maddy was one that made your heart clench. So great.

The art! Oh gosh, the art. I absolutely LOVE when authors add art in their novels. It adds this really awesome quality to the book that just makes me love it more. And the art is so fun in this book. It adds to the story, definitely.

The writing is so great. I loved the way the chapters were set up. Some were extremely short, like a couple sentences, and others were longer. I loved how the writing felt like you were really inside of Madeline’s head the whole time. It is one of the main things that made this book so great. The ending was… different. Nothing I expected at all. But it was great, and it was left pretty open. I would like to know more, but I actually hope Nicola leaves this as a stand-alone because I really enjoyed the way it ended.

So, basically, read this! I had not even heard anything about this book when I picked it up. I was in a reading slump, and went to Barnes & Noble, hoping that would help. I ended up picking this one up because I needed something light and quick to read. This one caught my eye pretty fast. The cover is beautiful! I read the summary, and flipped through to see the cute little pieces of art, and got it! I read it that same day, and loved it! I will probably definitely reread this sometime later, if I need to claw my way out of a slump. Hahaha.Β 

Such a unique read. Go get it!

Thanks for reading! (:

Leave a Reply

