First & Then by Emma Mills – Book Review – *Spoiler Free*

First & Then by Emma Mills

Published: October 13, 2015 by Henry Holt & Co. (BYR)

Source: Hardcover, 272 pages

Summary: Devon Tennyson wouldn’t change a thing. She’s happy silently crushing on best friend Cas and blissfully ignoring the future after high school. But the universe has other plans. It delivers Devon’s cousin Foster, an unrepentant social outlier with a surprising talent, and the obnoxiously superior and maddeningly attractive jock Ezra right where she doesn’t want them – first into her gym class and then into every othere aspect of her life.

With wit, heart, and humor to spare, First & Then is a contemporary novel about falling in love – with the unexpected boy, with a new brother, and with yourself.

Rating: 4 stars!

Thoughts: First, this book was cute! It was a quick refreshing read. I really enjoyed it. It says on the cover Pride and Prejudice meets Friday Night Lights, and that it was! There were a lot of Jane Austen references, and that really made Devon’s personality tie in with the story.

I enjoyed the main character a lot. She reminded me of myself in a way. She’s sarcastic in a funny way, and she’s really down to earth. She was confident, and even though she wasn’t “popular”, she did not let that hold her back. I liked her personality a lot!

Cas. Ugh, no no no. I did not like his character at all. So, enough about him.

Ezra. Oh “heart eye emoji” Ezra. I enjoyed his character also. I really like the way his character developed throughout the novel. There were times when he really opened up, and that was neat to see.

The relationships were great! They all changed a lot, but you could feel them. I found myself actually rooting for Devon’s relationship, and I always like to feel that way when I’m reading. Ahh and Ezra/Foster’s relationship was the greatest. It made me wish I had a big brother. Haha. This was written so wonderfully. It was an easy read, and it really drags you in. Emma Mills killed it with her debut novel!!

I highly recommend this one! It was an absolutely enjoyable read!

Thanks for reading! (:



Β 

Leave a Reply

