Soundless by Richelle Mead Book Review! -Spoiler Free-

Soundless by Richelle Mead

Published: November 10, 2015 by Razorbill

Source: Hardcover, 266 pages/Audiobook from Audible narrated by Kim Mai Guest

Summary:
In a village without sound… 

For as long as Fei can remember, no one in her village has been able to hear. Rocky terrain and frequent avalanches make it impossible to leave the village, so Fei and her people are at the mercy of a zipline that carries food up the treacherous cliffs from Beiguo, a mysterious faraway kingdom.
When villagers begin to lose their sight, deliveries from the zipline shrink. Many go hungry. Fei and all the people she loves are plunged into crisis, with nothing to look forward to but darkness and starvation.

One girl hears a call to action…

Until one night, Fei is awoken by a searing noise. Sound becomes her weapon.
She sets out to uncover what’s happened to her and to fight the dangers threatening her village. A handsome miner with a revolutionary spirit accompanies Fei on her quest, bringing with him new risks and the possibility of romance. They embark on a majestic journey from the peak of their jagged mountain village to the valley of Beiguo, where a startling truth will change their lives forever… And unlocks a power that will save her people.

Rating: I gave this 2.5/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: First off, I know that is probably one of the lowest ratings I’ve given a book in a long time, but I’ll explain why. I probably shouldn’t review this book since I didn’t love it, but I really want to try to review every newly published book I read, so here it goes..

The book was okay. Not horrible, not wonderful, but just okay. I couldn’t keep my attention to actually read it, but I used my audible credit to get the audiobook so that I could listen to it on my way to work. It took me a lot longer to “read” it this way, but it made the book more enjoyable. I did read the first 60 pages I think from the hardcover copy, but the rest was on audiobook. The narrator had a Chinese accent, so it made it feel a little more realistic. Not such an accent that she couldn’t be understood, but just enough to bring the story to life.

The story line seemed so interesting, and it was. I just do not feel like it was played out as great as it could have been. It was such a short book, and because of that, there was really no world-building or even really much character development. Fei had SO much potential. I love a strong female lead, and that is what she was, but I feel like she could have been so much more. There was a love interest, and even though that was touched on a lot, it could have been better somehow. The story happened so fast, and everything just kind of ran together. There were things that needed much more time to explain and other things that I would have been interested to know more about that did not really get talked about very much. 

Another complaint is that there really wasn’t any Chinese folklore in the story.. Maybe a little, but not much. I was looking forward to that too, so it was a little of a let-down. There really wasn’t much of anything Chinese about this story other than where the story was set and the names of the characters and places. 

On a good note, I really enjoyed the way the story ended. The story did get MUCH better at the end. The last like 50 or so pages had me wanting to read (and that did not happen often). I enjoyed the ending, and was pleased with how it all wrapped up. However, as I said, this story felt rushed and it needed many more pages to really unfold.

I honestly almost couldn’t power through this, but I did. I’m glad I did, but it wasn’t easy. I’ve seen very mixed reviews. Some absolutely loved this, and that’s great! It just wasn’t my favorite I’ve read. Maybe I just went into it with too high of expectations, I’m not sure.

I am glad that this is a stand alone, but at the same time, I feel like this book just needs more explanation. I think that is the biggest reason I gave such a low rating, because it felt rushed and slung together. 

Also I think because the story had so much potential with the deaf aspect, and it just wasn’t enough. I don’t know. I feel really bad for bashing this book, but I have to give an honest opinion, right? /:

Anyway, I probably won’t ever read this again, but I do plan on reading Mead’s other works (Vampire Academy and Bloodlines). She also has a new series coming out in 2016 at some time that I’ve seen hype about, so I plan on looking into that also. But hey, if you’re a big Richelle Mead fan, pick this up! It is an okay read. It isn’t a long book, so it wouldn’t take too much time. If you’re interested, read it! You could have a totally different experience than I did!

Sorry again for the awfully brutal review.. I promise to put something cheery up soon! Haha!

Thanks for reading! (: 

2 thoughts on “Soundless by Richelle Mead Book Review! -Spoiler Free-

  1. OnMyBookshelf says:

    Interesting opinion! I think I might read Soundless anyway in spite of all the mixed reviews…
    But hey, a review doesn't always have to be one with a high rating, that's why we write them, right? To show our honest opinion so I think it's great that you wrote this 🙂

    By the way, I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

