OwlCrate Unboxing – "Get Inspired" – December 2015

 My December OwlCrate!! Better late than never, right? haha

Description: Owl Crate is a monthly subscription service that sends you magical monthly boxes tailored to a chosen theme. Each Owl Crate will contain one new Young Adult novel, as well as 3-5 other bookish treats to help you get your nerd on.

Price: $29.99 + $6.99 to the US, $10.59 shipping to Canada, and $19.99 shipping to anywhere else in the world.

 First look!

December’s theme was “Get Inspired”!

Interestingggg! 

Let’s get into it then!

 Reading Journal by Penguin Random House

Thoughts: I was actually just thinking about how I needed something like this to keep up with TBRs and other things bookish! So I’m very excited about this. There are quotes inside and other fun pages to fill out with favorite quotes, stories, and TBR lists! So fun!

Value: $8.00

 “Reading at the Cafe” Candle by Frostbeard

Thoughts: Ahh!! I knew we were getting a candle from Frostbeard because she posted a sneak peak on Instagram, and I was excited then! And I’m even more excited now because it smells SO good! The scent is of coffee beans and chocolate and it smells heavenly! Love it!

Value: Not 100% sure of the value because they do not have these in the small tins for sale. A full size candle is $18.00, and it is 15 oz. I’m going to guess that these are around 4-5oz, so I’m going to say the value is $5.00 (:

Reading Octopus To-Do List Notepad from Boygirlparty

Thoughts: How cute!! The little reading octopus!! Hahaha. I love this! And it can never hurt me to have a to-do list! Super cute!

Value: $8.00

Wintry Little Prince Magnet by Art of Sandra Vargas

Thoughts: This little magnet is too cute! I’m a fan! I love magnets! (:

Value: $3.00   

 

Da Vinci’s Tiger by L. M. Elliott + Exclusive Magnet Set

Summary:
The beautiful, witty daughter of a wealthy family, Ginevra de’ Benci longs to share her poetry and participate in the artistic ferment of Renaissance Florence. But she is trapped in an arranged marriage in a society dictated by men, expected to limit her creativity to household duties.

When charismatic Venetian ambassador Bernardo Bembo arrives in Florence, he introduces Ginevra to a dazzling circle of patrons, artists, and philosophers – a world of thought and conversation she has yearned for. She is attracted to the handsome newcomer, yet conflicted about his attentions. Choosing Ginevra as his Platonic muse, Bembo commissions her portrait by a young Leonardo da Vinci. Posing for the brilliant painter inspires a captivating intimacy between them. In a vivid backdrop of art, jousts, and festivals, the young poet faces many challenges to discover her voice, artistic companionship, and a love that defies the categorization. In the end, she and Leonardo are caught up in a deadly battle between powerful families.

In this beautifully written exploration of a real-life Renaissance woman, L. M. Elliott delivers the stunning tale of Ginevra de’ Benci, captured forever in Leonardo da Vinci’s first portrait, a painting that broke convention and established the master as a force of artistic honesty.

Thoughts: This sounds really interesting! I’m not usually super quick to read a historical fiction novel, but this one sounds really neat. I am happy I got this because it isn’t a book I would have picked up myself, and weirdly, I love getting that kind because it helps broaden my reading experiences. So I’m excited to read this!

Value:  $17.99

Total Value for this box: $41.99

I really think that this has been my favorite month so far! So many really good practical items! My favorite item is the candle. (:

If you are interested, head over to www.owlcrate.com and subscribe! There are still spots for the January box and the theme is “Magic”! (:

I hope you enjoyed my #OwlCrate unboxing!

Thanks for reading! (:   

Leave a Reply

