Wolf By Wolf by Ryan Graudin Book Review! *Spoiler Free*

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

Published: October 20th, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Source: Hardcover, 388 pages

Summary:
The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule. To commemorate their Great Victory, they host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The prize? an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor’s Ball in Tokyo.

Yael, a former death camp prisoner, has witnessed too much suffering, and the five wolves tattooed on her arm are a constant remonder of the loved ones she lost. The resistance has given Yael one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. A survivor of painful human experimentation, Yael has the power to skinshift and must complete her mission by impersonating last year’s only female racer, Adele Wolfe. This deception becomes more difficult when Felix, Adele’s twin brother, and Luka, her former love interest, enter the race and watch Yael’s every move.ย 

But as Yael grows closer to the other competitors, can she be as ruthless as she needs to be to avoid discovery and stay true to her mission?

Rating: 5/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: This book! Oh my goodness! This was fantastic!

I got this in my November Uppercase and honestly, it wasn’t one that I thought I would be quick to pick up. I will be the first to say that I really really REALLY do not like history. There are exceptions to what I like and don’t like and what I find interesting, but history has always been my least favorite subject in school. So when I saw that this was a historical fiction, I was very hesitant to pick it up. I was scared I wouldn’t get into it. BUT.. then I reread the summary, and it sounded interesting enough, so I decided to pick it up, and WOW.

This was so interesting. The world was so good! It was very different. I got plunged into the past with this girl with an odd power, and it was just great. The whole story line was so intriguing. I read this book rather quickly just because I could not put it down!

Yael as a main character was really good. She was a strong lead, and she was a beast! Literally unstoppable! The way she portrayed Adele was really good, too. It was fun being inside her head as she tried to learn to literally be her! It kept me wondering how long she could fool her brother and Luka (and since it’s no spoiler, I can’t say whether she did or didn’t (: ) hahaha. So great!

The plot! To kill Hitler?! Whaaaa. I wish I would have come up with a plot like this, and then I could have had an awesome book like this! Not just to kill Hitler, but the fact that she has to enter this deathly race and WIN to even get close to him to kill him! Craziness. I really enjoyed the race, and all of the stops and twists she had to go through. The other racers were interesting to read about, and the way she worked her way through the race was neat. I just found it super crazy what all Yael had to do to get to where she was! Seriously, you have to read it.

Finally, I just want to talk about the end! So, obviously I won’t spoil, but this does not end the way you would think! At all. It is such a twist that I honestly did not see coming! So I am very excited that this is going to be a duology! The second book is still untitled, but I cannot wait to get my hands on it! Me, who never thought I could get into historical fiction, and I am SO excited!ย 

So, guys, read this book! Even if you hate history, read it! I loved it!

Thanks for reading! (:

ย 

Leave a Reply

