Passenger by Alexandra Bracken Book Review! *Spoiler Free*

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Series: Passenger, #1

Published: January 5th, 2016 by Hyperion

Source: Hardcover, 486 pages

Summary: 

passage, n.
i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.
ii. A journey by water; a voyage.
iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them— whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are play­ing, treacherous forces threaten to sep­arate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home . . . forever.

Rating: I gave this one 3/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: Okay.. this book took me FOR. EV. ER. to read. No, seriously. It took me almost all of January. I did finish it though. I gave this 3 stars because it was just okay. It was good. Not great, but just good.

This book was such an anticipated release for me, and I think that because of that, I was super disappointed. I have heard so many times how amazing Alexandra Bracken’s writing is, and so I thought I would love this. But, I didn’t. So now, I’m a little hesitant to read her Darkest Minds trilogy.. I feel like this book was entirely too hyped up, and it just did not live up to it for me.

Maybe it was because it took me so long to read it, but I just did not connect to this book, at all. And I really, really wanted to. It took me at least 150 pages to actually get into the book, and then it didn’t even get good until the last like 75 pages.. I just.. I kept reading because I kept thinking it would get better. 

The plot was interesting, very interesting! I did think the story line was good. I really like the time travel thing. I felt like it could have been done better though.. I just felt like it was rushed or something. I liked the whole idea, and I wish I could have gotten into it more.

Honestly, I did not like Etta. She was whiny and just kind of annoying.. Nicholas, however, I really liked. I thought his character was fantastic, and honestly, the relationship between Nicholas and Etta was really the only thing that kept me reading. Etta’s relationship with her mom irritated me too. I get why her mom did what she did, but really it was just wrong on soooo many levels. And Alice, oh Alice. I really liked Alice.. poor Alice.

Now the ending was good. Very good. I’m glad I finished this book, I am. I thought the ending was worth reading the whole book. I will probably read Wayfarer when it comes out, but only because of the ending of Passenger.. Lol. It was a slightly expected, but good ending.

Guys I’m sorry for this review being so sad. I’m sad! I really, really wanted to enjoy this one! And maybe closer to Wayfarer I’ll reread and hopefully have a better experience. Everyone else has just loved this book, and I can’t really comprehend why I didn’t. January wasn’t a good reading month for me, so maybe that is why.. I don’t know.

Anyway, if you were interested in Passenger, by all means, still read it! I feel like I’m the only person that didn’t just love it, so I’m sure you’d like it. Hahaha. But forreal, read it. I did not fall head over heels for it, but it was a good read. Not fantastic, but it was good.

Again, sorry for the brutally honest review.. Don’t unsubscribe please.. Hahaha.

Thanks for reading! (:

Leave a Reply

