Where Futures End by Parker Peevyhouse Book Review! -No Spoilers-

Where Futures End by Parker Peevyhouse

Published: February 9th, 2016

Source: Hardcover, 289 pages

Summary:
Five teens. Five futures. Two worlds. One ending.

One year from now, Dylan develops a sixth sense that allows him to glimpse another world.

Ten years from now, Brixney must get more hits on her social media feed or risk being stuck in a debtors’ colony.

Thirty years from now, Epony scrubs her entire online profile from the web and goes “High Concept.”

Sixty years from now, Reef struggles to survive in a city turned virtual gameboard.

And more than one hundred years from now, Quinn uncovers the alarming secret that links them all.

Five people, divided by time, will determine the fate of us all. These are stories of a world bent on destroying itself, and of the alternate world that might be its savior—unless it’s too late.

Rating: 3.5/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: This was… interesting. Very interesting. Basically, this book is made up of 5 like novellas that are all tied together. I guess for this review, I’ll talk about each one separately!

So, for Dylan. He is the start of the story, and I really like this one. It was what brought us into this world called the “Other Place” that Dylan and his brother apparently played in when they were kids and met the Girl Queen. It was all magical and a fairy tale type land. The Other World is the other setting in this book. There are two worlds, the world we live in, and then the Other World. This story sets up for the other stories. I enjoyed Dylan’s.

Brixney.. what a name! haha. This story is about this girl that lost her family, so her older brother ended up having to take over all of the debt that their family had, and because of that, Brixney and her brother has to go live in what they call a debtors’ colony until they pay off all of the debt, otherwise, they’ll have to go to an even worse debtor colony. In this world, there are these things called feeds, and basically, it is like YouTube in the future, except they are live feeds, and if so many people are watching, then the person responsible for the feed gets paid. So, this whole story is about Brixney trying to make money off of her feed to help her brother get out of debt. The Other World is talked about in this story also, and Dylan is known as the guy who first went into the Other World. I liked this one!

Epony’s story was my least favorite. Only because I just didn’t really like the characters. But in this story, it is about a girl and her boyfriend. They live in a small town and on farms. In this world, the state is starting to flood farms, so a company called Microsoft-Verizon (ha, ha) comes in and moved select families to the big city to sort of start over. They take interest in Epony and her boyfriend, Cole. They move them and their family out to the city, and make a “feed” of a story based on Epony and Cole. In the story, Epony is an alien from the Other World and Cole is in love with her, but because she’s an alien, they can’t be together and they’re hiding it from the government. So, yeah this story is focused on that aspect of going “high-concept”. I didn’t like this one because of the characters, and the story was boring to me also. They did bring Dylan and Brixney into this story by talking about the past. The Girl Queen is a franchise of movies and books based on the stories Dylan wrote about.

 Reef’s story is next. His is one of the most interesting worlds, in my opinion. In his world, there is this video game called Alt, and you put on these goggles, and you’re in the game. Like, you yourself. That was really neat, I thought! So, his story is basically him trying to get visas for his wife and her little girl to escape where they are so that she can go back to Canada where her sister is. The only thing about this story is that there are a lot of unnecessary parts and I found myself trying to skim because it was just annoying at times. But I did like this story also. 

Quinn’s story is the last. I did not like it, and I thought it was weird and rushed and just not good. I really like the book up until this part, the ending. The ending was dull, and definitely not “alarming”. At this point, I knew I was supposed to find out what connected them all, and I expected it to be like a mind-blowing reveal, but… no. It was just not good. I don’t know, I’m very disappointed in the way this ended. 

Overall, I liked the book. I thought it was very different. And very interesting. I felt that it is a book that you have to read sort of slow to really take it in. It takes some concentration, and sometimes I had to read the same paragraph multiple times to understand what was happening. But I like that, so it was fun to figure out! I can see this book being one that I could reread and find something different in it each time.

I do recommend this book, for sure. The ending was a let down for me, but it could be totally different for you! So give it a try. Also, this is Parker’s debut novel! So yay for her because it was really good. I can’t wait to see what else she comes out with!

Hope you enjoyed my review!

Thanks for reading! (:

Leave a Reply

