Non-Spoiler Book Review: The Love That Split The World by Emily Henry

The Love That Split The World by Emily Henry

Published: January 26, 2016 by Razorbill

Source: Hardcover, 396 pages

Summary:
Natalie Cleary must risk her future and leap blindly into a vast unknown for the chance to build a new world with the boy she loves.

Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start… until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.

That’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.

Emily Henry’s stunning debut novel is Friday Night Lights meets The Time Traveler’s Wife, and perfectly captures those bittersweet months after high school, when we dream not only of the future, but of all the roads and paths we’ve left untaken.

Rating: I gave this a 4/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: Okay, first off. Can I just say that if this is any indication of how the YA debut novels are going to be this year, we are off to a GREAT start! I was pleasantly surprised. The only reason I say that is because there were so many mixed reviews on this book, but guys. It was so good!

As always, also, no spoilers from me! (:

First I just want to talk about the cover! Like, it is absolutely gorgeous! I wanted to read this just for the cover haha. Whoever designed this should design every book ever from this point on hahaha. Really though, it seriously is so pretty!

I know a lot of the complaints on this book is the whole insta-love issue, but I enjoyed it! Yes, sometimes I thought it was a little much, but I can enjoy some insta-love every once in a while. And I found myself smiling and feeling giddy like a little girl with her first crush.. no, honestly. So, I am absolutely 100% Team Natalie and Beau. There were times when I felt absolutely heartbroken, and then times when I felt so much joy. It was just a really good well-rounded, well-written relationship.

The story. Oh gosh, the story. I was able to figure out one aspect before I got to it, but I did not see the end coming. I wasn’t really sure how it was going to end. I didn’t expect the ending at all.. And I still have so many unanswered questions, and I’m honestly hoping for a sequel.. kind of. But then again, not really. I just want moreeeee!! But anyway, I loved the story line. I really liked the time travel aspect. It was so different and weird and just beautiful. The relationship between Natalie and Beau was just so interesting. Just great.

The writing. The writing was beautiful, and I know I’ve said that word a lot about this book, but I don’t really know what other word to use. I almost immediately fell in love with Natalie. She was a great main character. Her personality drew me in so fast. She is sarcastic, funny, and so intricate.She is just a good, diverse main character. She is also Native American, and adopted. I thought it was really cool to see that, because we really don’t see a whole lot of Native American main characters in the YA genre. So I can appreciate that! I also loved Beau. He was so down to earth and real. Loved! “Grandmother” was fantastic. Normally, the little stories in between would probably bore me, but this book made me excited and made me want to read until I finished. And as you know if you’ve been following me lately, that is a change for me. A really good change. 

The one flaw, and the reason I didn’t give it a full 5 stars, was all of the info dumping. There were paragraphs and paragraphs of info that just wasn’t really necessary to the plot. Some of it may have been, but I feel like there were parts that were just much too wordy for my taste. I mean, it didn’t happen SO often that it made it awful, but it was enough to knock a star off haha. That and that the book started a little slow, it took a few chapters to get into the story, but once I was in, I was IN! Lol. 

So, if you have not read this book, do it. You may hate it, or you may be like me and love it, but either way, I think it is worth the read!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this review! Let me know what you thought in the comments!

Thanks for reading! (: 

Leave a Reply

