Uppercase Unboxing – May 2016

Hello! I apologize for this going up so late. I have this one and my OwlCrate coming to you today and tomorrow. (:

This is Uppercase Box!

Uppercase is a monthly book subscription. There are three different plans to choose from, but I subscribed to the Expert Box. Each Expert box (Or should I say bag) includes one brand new hardcover Young Adult book that is either signed by the author or comes with a signed bookplate, 1-2 exclusive and custom bookish items, and also a unique reading experience for each book.

The box is $23/month plus $6 shipping equaling $29/month!

 First look!

As I always point out, this subscription does not have a monthly theme. It is a general YA book subscription!

Let’s look into what was in May’s bag!

The Picture of Earl Grey Loose Leaf Tea Blend from NovelTea Tins + Lydia Bennet Bookmark

Thoughts: I love this. So funny and cute! This is a “Hedonistic blend inspired by Oscar Wilde”
The ingredients include: jasmine green tea, early grey black tea, rose petals, natural flavors

I am not a huge earl grey fan, but this is adorable and I will for sure try it out!

The bookmark is an add for their new tea coming soon: “Pride and Peppermint”. Cuteeeee.

Value: $9.00

Book Paradise Postcard Set by Eric Nyffeler (Uppercase Exclusive)

Thoughts: These are SO CUTE!!

I do wish there had been a card included about these, but I think I’ve figured out which paradises are included: Harry Potter, The Hobbit, The Grisha Trilogy, The Mortal Instruments, Alice in Wonderland, and The Hunger Games! Right?? Let me know if you see something otherwise. (: 

Value: I am estimating around $10?

 Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes (SIGNED!) + sticker and bookmark

Summary:
Maguire is bad luck.

No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when Maguire is around. Like that time the roller coaster jumped off its tracks. Or the time the house next door caught on fire. Or that time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash – and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch.

It’s safest for Maguire to hide out in her room, where she can cause less damage and avoid new people who she could hurt. But then she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star. Jordy is confident, talented, and lucky, and he’s convinced he can help Maguire break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for Jordy is to stay away. But it turns out staying away is harder than she thought.

from author Paula Stokes comes a funny and poignant novel about accepting the past, embracing the future, and learning to make your own luck. 

Thoughts: This sounds okay! It has good reviews on Goodreads, so that is always a good sign! I need to get into more contemporary books now that it’s summer time!

Value: $17.99

Reading Experience

As always, I wanted to include this photo!

I posted above in the description about each book having a unique reading experience and this is what that is!

Usually, there are a few post it notes in the book, but the past few months, we have gotten bookmarks, and I think I like it a lot better! It is helpful to have a bookmark to go with the book! Although, sometimes I do forget to look up the website at the specific page numbers without the flags in the books. /: 

Anyway, the way this works, when you get to the page shown in the book, you go to the website listed for questions, polls, and videos that correspond to that part in the book! Very fun!

Total Value for this box: $36.99! (With Postcard estimate)

I actually didn’t super love this month. /: The book sounds okay, but I wouldn’t say I’m dying to read it. The postcards are beautiful, but truthfully, I won’t have much a use for them. And the tea is super cute, but I don’t think I’ll like it either. 😦

Usually I’m super impressed, so I hope June is back to being awesome!

If you are interested in this subscription, head over to www.uppercasebox.com and sign up!

I hope you enjoyed my #Uppercase unboxing!

Thanks for reading! (:

Leave a Reply

