BOOK REVIEW: The Heir by Kiera Cass

The Heir by Kiera Cass

Series: The Selection Series, #4

Published: May 5th, 2016 by HarperTeen

Source: Hardcover, 342 pages

Summary: 
Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

Rating: I gave this 4/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts:
I really enjoyed this book, a lot! I was a bit hesitant because I really loved the Selection Series and I had seen lots of reviews of people really not liking the main character in this one, Eadlyn. So, I gave myself a few months in between. I’m glad I did because I really do not do well with marathoning any series, even a favorite. 

These books just pull me in so quickly and I fly through them! They are just really easy to read and they definitely keep me interested. I did find Eadlyn a bit overwhelming at times, some things she said were annoying, but overall I liked her. I feel that she’s a bit misunderstood. I like a few of the guys, but I am hoping for much more one on one time with some of them in The Crown! Overall, this was super enjoyable and I can’t wait to pick up the finale!

OKAY SPOILER TIME!! If you have not read this, nor the Selection Series, beware of spoilers for both to come!!

Okay, so we have our main character, Eadlyn, which is the daughter of our former beloved now King Maxon and his lovely Lady America (well, Queen now, but you know). Eadlyn is.. interesting. I liked her! She did have a few choice words that I didn’t agree with and sometimes she could be too much. But I didn’t hate her like a few reviews I’ve seen! I’m glad she finally decided to take the Selection seriously at the end of this one because that was kind of bugging me.

The storyline was good. I did feel that we didn’t get to see as much of the guys as I would have liked, but I guess since it was the beginning of the story, it was hard to fit it all in. MY favorite guys right now are:

Hale: so stinking nice!! I’m rooting for him!

Kile: …surprisingly, I’m feeling them together. And Eadlyn totally is too, no matter how hard she doesn’t want to.

Henri: He is so cute! Although I don’t think he’ll be the one because of the language barrier.

Erik: YES, Erik. I really honestly hope something happens here. Even though he isn’t part of the Selection (He is Henri’s translator), there is definitely something there!

Ean: He is interesting. He says he doesn’t want love, and wants to just be there for Eadlyn as like a husband and partner, but without the love.. But something just seems off about him, I don’t know.

Also I wanna talk about Ahren. Dang Ahren. I get that he wanted to just run off and marry Camille, but truthfully, he was a jerk about it. He knew how important he is to Eadlyn, and the way he handled things was wrong. Really wrong. So wrong that he caused his mom to have a heart attack! Yes, Queen America in the hospital wing suffering a heart attack. So I’m praying she pulls through okay because that would be too sad otherwise.

The book closes with Eadlyn, King Maxon, Eadlyn’s brothers, and all the Selection guys crowded around Queen America in prayer, and she sees how sad her dad is… and that is when Eadlyn decides to take this thing seriously and actually try to find a husband.

I really loved it, and I’m excited to read The Crown! Planning to pick it up tonight. And hopefully read it between then and tomorrow! (:

Have you read this? What are your thoughts? 

Thanks for reading! (: 

Leave a Reply

