BOOK REVIEW: The Crown by Kiera Cass

The Crown by Kiera Cass

Series: The Selection Series, #5

Published: May 3rd, 2016 by HarperTeen

Source: Hardcover, 279 pages

Summary:
When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

Rating: I gave this a 4/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts:
 I really enjoyed this book! It was a good wrap-up to the series. It honestly makes me sad that it’s over! I loved this entire series so much. They were by far my favorite comfort reads I’ve had in a while. This was a fun, fast read for me. Although, it did not end at all the way I expected it to. But I’m really glad it didn’t because the way it did end was PERFECT!! So, if you have not read these books, please do. If you enjoy the tv show The Bachelor/The Bachelorette, you will seriously LOVE these!

OKAY SPOILER TIME!! If you have not read this, nor the Selection Series, beware of spoilers for both to come!!

Ahhh okay. So we start out literally right after The Heir left off. Queen America is still in the hospital wing recovering, and thank God she didn’t die!! haha. Eadlyn has it narrowed down to her Elite 6 because of the circumstances, and at this point, she is acting as regent while her dad is out of the office. So she has all this added stress. The girl is 18. Like, props, because I definitely couldn’t do it. 

And then, she ascends as Queen! Eadlyn evolves into a much more mature character in this book, and I love that. The brat she was in The Heir at times is completely gone. 

So the guys.. I’ll talk about them the way I did in my Heir review.

Fox: he was sweet, but I really didn’t see why she held on to him for so long, so yeah. Sweet, but that’s it.

Hale AND Ean: WHAT. I literally never saw that coming. I mean, I guess, I can see it now, but I would have never pictured either of them gay. and IN LOVE. This twist actually really caught me off guard haha. But Eadlyn is awesome by not exploiting them and allowing them to go and be together! So sweet!

Kile: So, Eadlyn thinks Kile will be the one she proposes to, and when she goes to do just that, she couldn’t because she didn’t want to hold him back. She’s awesome. So, it isn’t Kile.  

That only leaves…

Henri: So, whoooo we have our King. but do we…

Erik: or shall I say,  Prince consort Eikko. Ahhhh YES. I knew there was something there!! So at the end of the book, Eadlyn goes to Maxon and was all “I’m in love with the translator” haha. And Maxon pretty much just says what was true. Follow your heart, and who cares about the rules! So, Eadlyn brings Erik up to the stage and proposes, right there! He obviously says yes, and they live happily ever after! So sweet. I really loved them together and it was so forbidden that my heart hurt for them for half the book, but then Eadlyn makes her own rules and does it anyway and I was so happy!

Then we have this other character, Lady Brice, who has been a huge help to both King Maxon and now Queen Eadlyn. Turns out, she’s Maxon’s sister! His dad had an affair (haaate him), and had an illegitimate daughter. Apparently, when something like that happens, the child is supposed to have to die, but Maxon found out and found her and has been hiding her since. I thought it was a fun little addition to the story.

Ew, can we talk about Marid?! He is awful. Just awful. That’s all.

So, then we have our last little bonus chapter, 6 years later. There’s a wedding happening and it is Josie’s and Kaden’s. Lol whaaaattt. I’m just glad Josie stopped being such a brat! And we see that Eadlyn and Eikko have a sweet little girl and another baby on the way!

I just love happy endings. (:

Did you read this series? What are your thoughts?

Thanks for reading! (: 

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Crown by Kiera Cass

  1. Gennifer Eccles says:

    Oh my gosh the bonus chapter was NOT in my edition! I'll have to go back at the library and look!! I didn't guess Hale and Ean either! When I read it though, it did make sense! I loved how Eadlyn let Kile go, and that my ship sailed! I only gave the book 3 stars (everything felt rushed to me) but it was a solid end to the series! Fun review Katelyn!

    Like

Leave a Reply

