BOOK REVIEW: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab 

Series: Monsters of Verity, #1

Published: July 5, 2016 by Greenwillow Books

Source: Hardcover, 427 pages

Summary: 
There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

Rating: I gave this 4.5/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts:  This book was so much fun. And honestly kind of scared me at some points. This was the first Victoria Schwab book I had read, and now I don’t know why I haven’t read ALL of her books. I am definitely going to look into buying her books. This was so good. The world was so different and the characters just worked so well. The writing was great, everything flowed so well together. Ah! Just so good.

A world where violence breeds monsters. Like.. that is actually so creative.  

“Sunai, Sunai, eyes like coal,  
Sing you a song and steal your soul..”
 
The monsters in this book. Corsai (flesh-eaters), Malchai (blood-suckers), and Sunai (soul-stealers). Ahhhh. Each of these monsters are formed from violent acts. Corsai: born from non-lethal acts of violence. Malchai: products of killings. Sunai: born from mass tragedies. 
Like I said, so creative. I’ve never read a book about monsters, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. But this pulled me in. 

The world. The world is just so cut-throat and beautiful. I know those are two really weird words to put together, but it’s true! The whole world divided between monsters and humans was just super interesting to me. The ONLY complaint I had about this book was that the world is so complex and a little confusing, and it took me a little while to understand. But other than that, I really had no complaints.

**SPOILER TIME!! If you have not yet read this book, turn back now or forever hold your peace! **

Okay so first off, I want to talk about characters.

Kate. Kate is so cool. She is fearless, and intimidating. She isn’t afraid to say what she is feeling and she isn’t afraid to do whatever it takes to get what she wants. The fact that she literally burned down a chapel just to get out of a boarding school to go home was crazy. She’s crazy! But awesome. Some of my favorite scenes with Kate was when she was trying to find out what August was. Also, when she stood up to Callum, her dad. Gah he was awful. But yeah, I really liked Kate’s character.

August. Ahhh August. Sunai. August is just so self-aware. He is such a great character. I felt really bad for him at times. He was such a human, yet not. It is all he wanted, and to read him struggling so hard with it really hurt my heart! August is one of three Sunai in this world. The other two being his brother, Leo (ugh), and his sister Ilsa. Can we talk about Ilsa for just a second? The fact that she lost her voice, her only instrument broke my heart. She is so so nice! So sad. And Leo. Well, I’m happy he died. Lol. 

August and Kate. NO ROMANCE. None, at all. That was really a shocker for me. I had heard that there was no romance in this, but I’ll be honest. I didn’t believe it. This is YA, people! That doesn’t happen! But I’m glad it happened. Because, although, I would have shipped Kate and August, they had a highly unlikely and great friendship. They worked so well together.

Ah. The part in the book when Kate murders the guy when August was hungry was a really frightening part for me. He was all “What have you done?”. It was a heart-racing part for me. But he fought it, and it was just so awesome. 

There wasn’t a whole lot of action in the first half, but the action-packed ending was just so good. 

The ending was sad, actually. I wish that Kate and August wouldn’t have gone separate ways, but I know that it was necessary and I also know that there will be more Kate and August in the next book, so I’m not too upset about it.

THE ENDING. Two really large cliff hangers. The main one, obviously, when the Malchai at the end was asking for Kate, and she said her name was Alice.. I’m wondering if Kate created that Malchai when she killed that man. Hmmm.

Also, the part at the end when Kate was leaving and the news on the radio was talking about murders in the Prosperity region. I want to know what that is about. Are the monsters spreading? Are there new monsters forming? Ahhhh.

I need the next book. Now.

Have you read This Savage Song? What did you think? I wanna know!

Thanks for reading! (:

Leave a Reply

