NONSPOILER BOOK REVIEW: Alien Love Story by A. K. Dawson

Alien Love Story by A. K. Dawson

Published: June 21, 2016 by Unsung

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. Thanks to A. K. Dawson!

Summary:
Love at first sighting.

Life is a headache for 15-year-old Dan. This isn’t some kind of metaphor. Dan suffers from migraines that make just about everything he does unbearable. Added to that he’s lost almost everyone he cares about. So he feels lonelier than the last puppy in a pet shop.

But one day he sees a mysterious girl digging in the rubbish bins behind his house. Just by being near her, he finds that all his pain goes away. So he wants to see her again, of course. And get to know her. But she’s a bit strange. And her big eyes make her look, well, like an alien.

Does she really exist? Or is she just a figment of an overactive, under-loved imagination?

Close encounters of the romantic kind.

From Northern England to outer space, and from Dan’s bedroom to the sandwich shop over the road, ALIEN LOVE STORY is about a close encounter of the romantic variety. But there’s more to it than that.

This book is about discovering parts of yourself you never knew existed. It’s about coping with grief and somehow moving on. And it’s about how Dan breaks into a mad scientist’s lab to perform a daring rescue – but that bit comes much later.

For now it’s enough to know there will be excitement, adventure and kissing. Lots of kissing. We did say it was a love story, didn’t we? So fasten your safety belt, put on some background music and enjoy the book.

Rating: I gave this book 2.5/5 stars on Goodreads.

Thoughts: 

First, I’d like to point out that this is the very FIRST time an author has contacted me to review their book, and you have no idea what that means to me! I have been anxiously waiting this opportunity for a while, so honestly, thank you so much, A. K. Dawson!

Now, let’s talk about this book! Okay, 2.5 sounds harsh, I know. BUT I didn’t hate it. Let me explain:

This was about a fifteen year old boy who falls in love with an alien. A sort of obsessive kind of love with an alien.

Dan was too immature for my taste, I mean I know he was just fifteen, but. The sexual references and such was awkward to read knowing it was supposed to be a fifteen year old talking about it. I know that today, that is becoming more and more “normal” for younger kids to be involved, but for me, it just seems so young.
 

Also, I can’t decide what genre it is supposed to fit it. I know it is technically YA, and yes, the language makes it YA. But the story line fit more into a middle grade novel in my opinion.

The story was fast-paced and the personality behind it was fun, and that’s what kept me reading it. The writing was good, and fun. I would like to see more from this author for sure, just maybe not in the point of view of a teenage boy. I definitely think there is serious talent in this book. Like I’ve said, I did not hate it. It was a quick read and kept my attention. It was just a little young for me, but that’s okay! I think that 13-14 year old me probably would have enjoyed this a lot.
 
I guess my real issue was the crazy case of insta-love. I’m talking like automatic, love-at-first-site love. I also had a really hard time picturing the relationship. Dan repeated multiple times that Alexander (the alien girl) was beautiful. It was difficult for me to picture a beautiful alien, because all Dan talked about was the large eyes and her small mouth. So all I could picture was a general alien. Literally, what is on the cover of the book was all that I could picture. Maybe that is what the author had in mind though, I don’t know. So because of that, I couldn’t connect to the character Alexander at all. It all felt just sort of strange.. And I don’t mean to be rude by that.

Like I said, it wasn’t terrible. A younger audience would enjoy it (minus the pervy mind of a teenage boy), I just don’t think it was my kind of book. Not because of the writing, as I’ve previously stated, I really enjoyed the writing!

It was a very short book. It may have met better expectations if some things were able to have been elaborated on. I feel that sometimes shorter novels feel rushed. This particular book did not feel that way, I just think it could have benefited from more pages. It did end on a cliff-hanger, so I’m interested to see if A. K. Dawson continues on with this story or not.

I feel like this review seemed harsh, and I do not mean for it to at all!! If you are interested in a literal alien love story, please, please read this! Support this author! It really was interesting. 

Thanks again to the author for giving me the opportunity to read your book!
  
Thanks for reading! (:

Leave a Reply

