August 2016 Reading Wrap Up!

Hello!

Happy September!

I had a really good reading month in August! I hope you all did also!

I read seven books, so let’s talk about what I read.

#1: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Thoughts: This was a super cute read! This is the first Morgan Matson book I’ve read, and I enjoyed it a lot. I heard a lot about it, and decided to pick it up. It was a nit rushed at the end, but still a very very cute read!

Rating: I gave this 4/5 stars on Goodreads!

 #2: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab (Monsters of Verity, #1)

Thoughts: Ahh I loveeed this one!! It was just so fun, and creepy, and just good! So interesting. 

I do have a full review on this one up on this blog, so check that out if you are interested!

Rating: I gave this a 4.5/5 stars on Goodreads!  

#3: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (The Grisha, #1)

Thoughts: I really, really enjoyed this one! I have been looking at this trilogy on my shelf for a longgg time. And now that Crooked Kingdom comes out soon, I want to catch up on this world. So, I decided to read this and I’m glad I did! The story isn’t as fast-paced as I’d like, but the world building is so good. I really love the characters too!! I’m excited about this series!

Rating: I gave this a 4/5 stars on Goodreads!  







#4: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Parts One and Two (HP, #8)

Thoughts: Uhmmm… I didn’t hate it. Didn’t love it. It was just okay. I just took it for what it was. I do not agree with the whole “Eighth story” thing because it didn’t and couldn’t compare to the original 7 books. Maybe if it would have been in novel form, my rating would be higher. I missed out on the descriptions of the places and the worlds. I had to rely on what I saw from the original books and the movies. I also couldn’t connect to the characters as much. But for what it was, I really it! 

I wanted to do a full review on this, but I feel like everything there is to be said about this has been said, so.. here is my review! Haha. 

Rating: I gave this one 4/5 stars on Goodreads!

#5: Seige and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (The Grisha, #2)

Thoughts: I go back and forth about this book. It didn’t completely draw me in like the first one. There were a lot of things that I loved about this one, but it also felt like a lot of info that was sort of overwhelming. It took me longer to read because I just couldn’t get into it as much. I loved the characters that were introduced, and the story is just as great. Still can’t wait to see how this trilogy ends!

Rating: I gave this 3.5/5 stars on Goodreads!

 #6: Alien Love Story by A. K. Dawson

Thoughts: Next, I read this book. I was contacted by the author to read and review this book. So, that is what I did. I didn’t hate this, but I didn’t really like it that much either. There were good things and not-so-good things in this book. 

I did do a full book review on this one also, so if you’re interested, please go check that out!

Rating: I gave this a 2.5/5 stars on Goodreads!  




#7: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

Thoughts: This was good! It is a thriller about a young girl who has been held captive for 8 years, and her 6-year-old daughter has only ever known captivity. One day, they break out, and this is their story about what happens after.

It was really good. It was a fantastic idea, but the execution of the whole book wasn’t as good as I expected it to be because of what it was about. It kept me interested, for sure. And I really liked it, I just had higher expectations I suppose.

Rating: I gave this 3.5/5 stars on Goodreads!




So, yeah that is my August wrap up! I sadly did not have a single 5 star read this month. That hasn’t happened to me in a while, but it’s okay. I didn’t hate anything I read, so I’m okay with it! I read a total of 2,270 pages.

Hopefully there will be 5 star ratings for me next month!

Stay tuned in for my September TBR coming probably tomorrow!

Thanks for reading! (:

Leave a Reply

