OwlCrate Unboxing – "Darkness" – September 2016

Hi! 

I know it is late.. again. I’m just going to have to get better, this is getting bad for me, and not fair to those who read my posts! Sorryyy, I’ll do better this month!!

Description: Owl Crate is a monthly subscription service that sends you magical monthly boxes tailored to a chosen theme. Each Owl Crate will contain one new Young Adult novel, as well as 3-5 other bookish treats to help you get your nerd on.

Price: $29.99 + $6.99 to the US, $10.59 shipping to Canada, and $19.99 shipping to anywhere else in the world.

First look!

The theme for September was “Darkness”! There is so much in this box! Let’s talk about it.

Info Card + Button

Thoughts: This card. Normally I don’t post these, but this card is so pretty!! Also, this month it came with a matching button. And you all know how much I love buttons!

“Celaena’s Cake” Candle by The Melting Library (Exclusive!)

Thoughts: This is inspired by Throne of Glass (which I still NEED to read..) and it smells amazing! Just like cake! I love the little paper in the candle. Too cute!

Value: $3.63

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Canvas Pouch by Out of Print

Thoughts: I love this so much. I’ve gotten 3 pouches including this one from this brand, and they are all such good quality! Love!

Value: $12.00 
 

Back of Pouch

The quote says: “Strange, I thought, how you can be living your dreams and your nightmares at the very same time.”

LOVE.

Fortune Telling Bomb by Da Bomb Bath Fizzers

Thoughts: This says it is “A mystic berry bath fizzer with a yes or no answer inside.” I have already used this, and it smelled so good! It was a really nice berry scent, and there was a little slip of paper inside. Mine said “Outlook Positive”. So, we’ll see if my answer was correct one day.. Haha.

This site/business is ran by two teenage sisters, and they have multiple bath bombs, all with something inside! Check them out!

Value: $7.50 

Six of Crows Bookmark by Evie Bookish (Exclusive!)

Thoughts: Evie Bookish (Seo) has amazing artwork. I have a few mugs from her! Love her shop! This bookmark is pretty awesome.

It says: “No mourners, no funerals”. I love this little motto they go by! I read Six of Crows last month and really enjoyed it! Can’t wait to use this with Crooked Kingdom!

Value: $4.00? This shop does not have bookmarks listed for me to go by. 😦 

Back of Bookmark

The quote says: “When everyone knows you’re a monster, you needn’t waste time doing every monstrous thing.”

Love it! 

Ad for Moon Chosen by P. C. Cast with an excerpt from the book!

Thoughts: This is interesting. I did know that P. C. Cast was writing another series. I read the Marked series by her and her daughter. I enjoyed it, although it was a looong time ago, and I don’t know how much I would enjoy the series now. So, I have no decided if I’m even going to pick this up right now. We will see I guess!

Inside the Ad

I did read the excerpt from the book, and I don’t know.. I just don’t know that I would enjoy it. I guess I will wait and see what kind of reviews it gets!

ReMade: Season 1, Episode 1: Shadows and Dreams by Matthew Cody

Summary:
You live. You love. You die. Now RUN.

ReMade.

Every minute,  108 people die.

On October 14, 2016, from 9:31-9:32 p.m. EDT, 23 of those deaths will be teenagers. Now they are humanity’s last hope for survival.

Awakened in a post-apocalyptic world and hunted by mechanical horrors, these teens search for answers amidst the ruins of civilization. Fate, love, and loyalty face off in this adrenaline-pumping YA adventure.

Presented by Serial Box Publishing, this serial will unfold in 15 episodes starting September 14, 2016.

Thoughts: This sounds very, very interesting! I have never read a serial before, so I will definitely have to give this a try! This is going to be by multiple authors also. You can learn more at www.SerialBox.com
 
Value: $1.99 (per episode, or entire Season 1 for $21.99)

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake (Three Dark Crowns, #1)

Summary:
Every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins. The last queen standing gets the crown.

Thoughts: I am so excited about this book!!! I actually guessed that this would be the book this month, and I am NEVER correct hahaha. This sounds so good. It was actually one of my most anticipated fall reads! So this is exciting. I have not gotten to this yet, but I plan to very soon!

Value: $17.99 

Letter from the Author, Signed Bookplate, and Exclusive Fortune Teller

Thoughts: I always love the letters, bookplates are the best, and the fortune teller is so unique! Love it!

October Theme Announcement + Sneak Peek!

The theme for October is “Once Upon a Dream”! How fun!!

Sneak Peek!

We will receive an awesome item from Whosits and Whatsits!

No idea who this shop is, but it sounds like The Little Mermaid so I think I’ll like it! (:

Total Value for this Box: $43.11! ($47.11 with my bookmark estimation)

What an awesome box! And wow what a long post! Hahaha! Sorry about that, but hey. You get your money back for sure with this box.

If you are interested, head over to www.owlcrate.com and subscribe! Because I fail and am so late, the October boxes have sold out already. :(I do apologize.. But the November theme was announced as “Wonderland”! So, that is awesome!

I hope you enjoyed my #OwlCrate unboxing!

Thanks for reading! (:

Leave a Reply

