October 2016 Reading Wrap Up!

Happy (Day After) Halloween!

What did you dress up as?? My boyfriend and I dressed up as Squints and Wendy Peffercorn from the Sandlot! Here’s a pic!

This was actually his idea, and I thought it was super cute!

I wanna see what you chose to dress up as also! (:

Alrighttt so let’s talk about what I read this month! Sadly, I was/am in a huge reading slump.. I got super behind on all of my shows that are on right now, so while I was trying to catch up, I just lost all need and/or want to read.. It is really sad, and I hope it ends soon! I read 5 books this month, so let’s talk about those!

#1: Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

Thoughts: This was so whimsical and fun! I gave it 4.5 because it took me a little bit to get into it, but once I got past it, I adored it! The world of Furthermore is so much more complex than I thought it would be, especially since this is a middle grade novel! But I loved it! This world is definitely the most creative world I have ever read about! It’s crazy, and again, whimsical! (the perfect word to describe this book) I lovedddd Alice. Alice is so spunky and feisty! She was such a fun character to read about.

I really liked the narrator of this story. Tahereh Mafi is such an amazing author. I have not read the Shatter Me series yet, but I know now that I definitely want to!

Such a cute story. The ending melted my whole heart. Can’t wait for more!!

Rating: I gave this 4.5/5 stars on Goodreads! (:

#2: Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Thoughts: I listened to this on audiobook this time and LOVED it!! It brought a new take to this already awesome book. The super interesting way this is written makes it unique, and the audiobook was just as unique as the book itself. So great!

Rating: I gave this 5/5 stars on Goodreads, again! (:  

#3: The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee (The Thousandth Floor, #1)

Thoughts: I really really enjoyed this!! It took me a while to read, but that is not the fault of the book. I’ve been in a huuuge (Trump voice) reading slump this month. But I am SO glad I pushed through this book! I loved it. It honestly did feel like a futuristic Gossip Girl. I soaked it all up! I loved the different points of view, although there was a certain character I could not STAND, it was still a really great read! 

I can’t wait for the next one! I do want to do a full review on this, so hopefully I’ll get around to that this week!

Rating: I gave this 4/5 stars on Goodreads!  

#4: Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (The Illuminae Files, #2)

Thoughts: I really liked this! I’ve seen multiple people say it was almost exactly like Illuminae, but I personally didn’t think it was. It had some of the same elements, but I feel like it was supposed to. The story was different, and I really enjoyed it. I’m really looking forward to see how the final book in this series wraps up!

Rating: I gave this 4/5 stars on Goodreads! 

#5: The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle

Thoughts: This was weird, and mostly boring. There was hardly a good plot. The relationships were so strange between all the characters, and the romance in this was disgusting.. I won’t say how because spoilers, but ugh. So gross. I didn’t exactly expect the plot twist at the end, I mean, I expected one because that was obvious, but I didn’t expect exactly what happened. I gave this a second chance because it seems like it has so much potential, and it did!! that’s what bothers me so much about this! It could have been SO good. Oh well. At least I finished it this time around..

Rating: I gave this 2/5 stars on Goodreads! 

So that’s a wrap for October guys! It was a pretty good month! Other than The Accident Season.. But either way, I read a total of 2,387 pages! Not too shabby.

What was your favorite book you read this month?? I want to know!

Thanks for reading! (:  

Leave a Reply

