BOOK REVIEW: The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon -No Spoilers-

The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Published: November 1, 2016 by Delacorte Press

Source: Hardcover, 384 pages

Summary: 
The story of a girl, a boy, and the universe.

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store – for both of us.

Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

Rating: I gave this 5/5 stars on Goodreads! (:

Thoughts: 

Ahh where do I begin?! If you have been following me at all, here or on Goodreads, you all know that Nicola Yoon is one of my favorites, and that her debut novel, Everything, Everything, was probably my favorite read of 2015. Still is one of my favorite reads! And Yoon did it again! 

This book was fantastic. I mean, the kind of fantastic that makes you not want to finish it because you just do not want it to end. That was how I felt with this book. It took me a few days to read, but only because when I did read it, I wanted to be able to read it with nothing else going on. I was totally immersed in this book from the very beginning.  

The characters are so lovely. Natasha is a strong-willed, sassy girl that could not be more different from the other character, Daniel. Daniel is a poet, a lover, a dreamer. Natasha believes in science, not love or fate, and Daniel believes in the love-at-first-sight, meant to be kind of thing. I really loved that Natasha was Jamaican and Daniel was Korean American. Those are not two cultures that generally get talked about in the same novel, so it was nice to read something different. The differences in the characters and how they came together was honestly just a beautiful piece of art.

The writing. Amazing as always. Yoon has this way of writing that completely draws her readers in. I would read 100 pages before I realized it. Her books are just those books that you fly through without realizing it. I loved the way this book was written. It was mainly in two points-of-view, Natasha’s and Daniel’s. But then we also got a few chapters from random characters in the story, like a security guard,  a waitress, her dad, his dad. There were chapters talking about the history of African American hair, and chapters about fate, and eyes, and just little things that go along and add perfectly to the story. Just so good.

The ending. Ahhhh. My heart. Don’t skip the epilogue. That’s all I can say.

The plot was, as stated above, about a girl who is getting deported along with her family by the end of the day, who just happens to cross paths with a boy who says he will make her fall in love with him by the end of the day. The entire book is over the course of a single day. That, alone, is such a unique way to write a book. To me, I feel like it would be so difficult. But Yoon makes it seem so easy. The talent here, is ridiculous. 

Honestly, I would read her grocery list.

I adored this book. If you haven’t read this or if you haven’t read anything by Nicola Yoon, do yourself and huge favor and go pick up both of her novels. Such good reads! Love, love, love.

Thank you again to Nicola Yoon for putting out yet another phenomenal novel. I truly cannot wait for your next one!

Until then, I’ll just reread these. (:

Thanks for reading! (: 

Leave a Reply

