December 2016 Reading Wrap Up!

Hello!

Happy New Year!! I hope you guys are having a great day! I spent the weekend with my family and boyfriend and just spent good time together!

It is time for the last wrap up of the year!

Wow it has been one heck of a year of reading! I am excited to see what 2017 holds!

December was very busy. Holidays and parties and family, yet still I managed to complete my reading goal for the year! Which, it was only 60 books. But for me, I’m proud of it! I think for next year, I’m going to cut it down to 52, because that seems a little more doable to me. I struggled getting to 60 at the end of this month!

I had a great month of reading! I read 7 books this month, so let’s talk about them!

#1: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard (The Witchlands, #1)

Thoughts: I really enjoyed this book by the end of it! I did have some problems in the beginning, but they resolved themselves by the end. 

I did do a full review on this one, and you can find it here: http://katelyndickinson.blogspot.com/2016/12/book-review-truthwitch-by-susan-dennard.html

Rating: I gave this 3.5/5 stars on Goodreads! 

#2: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Thoughts: This was absolutely beautiful. I loved it so much. It really pulls at the heartstrings, and I am so excited for this movie in January!

Rating: I gave this a 5/5 stars on Goodreads!  








#3: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare and friends

Thoughts:
Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy: 4/5 stars
The Lost Herondale: 3/5 stars
The White Chapel Fiend: 3/5 stars
Nothing But Shadows: 5/5 stars
The Evil We Love: 3/5 stars
Pale Kings and Princes: 5/5 stars
Bitter of Tongue: 3/5 stars
The Fiery Trial: 5/5 stars
Born to Endless Night: 4/5 stars
Angels Twice Descending: 4/5 stars

This was okay, nothing super great. I thought I would enjoy it more, but it was enjoyable. I really love Simon so I was happy to be reading about him!

Rating: I gave this a 3.9/5 stars on Goodreads. (Average of all individual ratings.)

#4: The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #1)

Thoughts: I read the first few of these as a child, like the first two maybe. I wanted to read the whole series though, and also wanted to read them before the Netflix show airs in January!

I thought this was enjoyable. Really great read. I forgot how awful Olaf was!

Rating: I gave this 4/5 stars on Goodreads.




#5: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Thoughts: I liked this. I did not love this. Going into this book, I was worried. Because it is SUCH a well known and loved book. I was worried I wouldn’t like it. I did like it, but I think I expected to absolutely love it, and I did not. The unique narration was really good, and it was nice reading from a different perspective. The last 50ish pages saved the entire book for me.

Rating: I gave this 3.5/5 stars on Goodreads!

#6: The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #1)

Thoughts: I enjoyed this one. This one made me really sad, actually. The poor kids were doing so well, and then. Count Olaf. It definitely is fun reading these!

Rating: I gave this one 4/5 stars on Goodreads!

#7: The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #1)

Thoughts: I did not actually enjoy this one as much. Aunt Josephine got on my nerves SO bad. Like, so bad. To the point that I almost didn’t finish it. Lucky these are so short.

Rating: I gave this 3/5 stars on Goodreads!

So there is is! My wrap up for December. Overall, I thought it was a really great month!

I read a total of 2,392 pages! Not too bad for also reading 3 childrens books! Haha.

What was your favorite read this month??

Thanks for reading! (: 

Leave a Reply

