Book Review: Heartless by Marissa Meyer! -No Spoilers-

18584855Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Published: November 8th, 2016 by Feiwel and Friends

Source: Hardcover, 449 pages

Summary:

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

Rating: I gave this 4.5/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: This book was SO good. After being a huge fan of Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles, I knew I had to read this book. Even though I am not a big fan of Alice in Wonderland, I still really enjoyed this. This, of course, has nothing to do with Alice. It is more like Wicked is to The Wizard of Oz. Like a prequel. And I loved it.

Marissa Meyer has the most wonderful writing style. She pulls you in from the very beginning. I had read on various reviews that this was a slow book, but it was not that way at all for me. If it wasn’t for me working, I definitely would have finished this book much faster than I did! I thought the story was gripping. Even though you know how it will end, wondering how it happened is what makes this so good. The story leading up to how Cath turns out to be the awful Queen of Hearts that we are all familiar with (not a spoiler!) was so interesting. For me, it was really sad. I loved Catherine’s character, and at times, her situation actually broke my heart!

The characters. I have already stated that I loved our main character, Catherine. Jest, her love interest throughout this story was also such a great character. He was so mysterious. Like you did not know whether you could or should trust him for even a second, but every fiber of my being wanted to trust him so desperately! The other characters were also so great. Seeing the Wonderland characters in a different way was so interested. Hatta (The Mad Hatter as we know him) was a really great character. His personality is exactly what you would expect, except not. Meyer has such a great way of re-imagining these well known and well loved characters. I honestly hope she continues to write retellings because hers never disappoint.

The world is just so fun! It is quirky like you would expect. Nothing makes much sense, and there are such random characters and animals. But it is good, and it works. The world building was not a big factor in this, but I think that Meyer intended it that way. The story was not meant to be focused on the world. I really enjoyed it.

The only reason I docked 1/2 a star was because the ending felt rushed. Everything finished out too quickly to me. It was still really great, but it could have progressed slightly better.

This was such a good book. I enjoyed reading it so much. I wasn’t sure that I would, as I had said that I am not a big Alice in Wonderland fan, but I was pleasantly surprised.

I cannot wait to see what Marissa Meyer comes up with next!

Have you read this book?? I would love to know your thoughts as well!

Thanks for reading! (:

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Heartless by Marissa Meyer! -No Spoilers-

  1. Literary Weaponry says:

    I adored this book. Read the whole thing in two days and just completely ugly cried through the last hundred pages or so. I didn’t understand why people said it was slow moving, either, except for the maze part. That bit seemed a bit more drawn out than necessary. Every situation Cath and company were in contributed to the overall outcome. It easily made my top ten favorite books.
    http://literaryweaponry.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • kpadickinson says:

      oh my gosh, yes. I agree with the maze part, but overall, yeah it was definitely not slow! loved this one! thanks for your comment. (:

      Like

Leave a Reply

