Book Review: Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli -No Spoilers-

19547856Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Published: April 7, 2015 by Balzer + Bray

Source: Paperback, 303 pages

Summary: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: If he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing with, will be jeopardized.

As his email correspondence with Blue grows more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year as suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out – without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s ever met.

Rating: I gave this 4/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: I really enjoyed this book! I’ve heard about this book for so long on BookTube and have seen it a million times on Goodreads, and finally decided to pick it up!

I really liked it! It was a quick and fun read. I always love a good “online romance” story. It was so fun trying to see if I could find out who Simon was emailing before we found out in the book. And honestly I was super surprised! I had like 3 people in mind that it could have been, but I was wrong. Haha! I love who it ended up being and they are so cute! Definitely some insta-love going on, but YA Contemporary, ya know?

Simon was such a great main character. He was so brave, honestly. He was such a funny and loving character, I loved being inside his head. There were some really great characters in this book. Simon’s love interest, “Blue”, was the bestttt and when you find out who he actually is, it’s even better. Abby was definitely one of my other favorites. She was spunky and fun. I liked Nick’s more reserved character. But I could not stand Leah. Oh my gosh, she was annoying. She was so whiny and got so mad over nothing. I can’t handle that, it’s so annoying to read. But overall, I enjoyed the characters!

The writing style was really good. Very easy to read and fast-paced. I needed a quick read in my life. Sometimes I tend to read nothing but fantasy, and that can become a little overwhelming at times, so it is always really great to pick up a fun and quick contemporary.

I don’t have anything bad to say about this book, except Leah. I enjoyed it a lot! I’m especially excited for her new book that releases this year!

Have you read this?? What did you think?

Thanks for reading! (:

One thought on “Book Review: Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli -No Spoilers-

Leave a Reply

