Book Review: Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill -No Spoilers-

28114396Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

Published: December 27, 2016 by HMH Books for Young Readers

Source: Hardcover, 392 pages

Series: Clash of Kingdoms, #1

Summary: Seventeen-year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam – that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose, she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.

However, it’s not so simple. The alleged killer is none other than Cohen Mackay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a treacherous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn that what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force.

Rating: I gave this 3/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: First of all, this cover is beautiful!! I enjoyed this novel. I thought the story was interesting and the plot was really well done. Britta was such a great main character. She is strong and so brave. A lot of the things she did really impressed me. I mean, hunting down her father’s killer had to be such a hard task. I understand her need for revenge, but the entire time, she was also mourning her father, which makes the task hard. I always love a stong-willed female heroin, and Britta was exactly that. Our main side character, Cohen was also really great. He was a but pushy and overprotective at times, but he was a great supporting character. The slow-burning romance between Britta and Cohen was good. I actually really enjoyed it! It was in no way insta-love because these two have known each other their entire loves almost. It was really interesting to see their interactions being that Cohen is the suspected killer of her father.

As far as the setting, it was mostly set in the woods. There was kingdoms and castles, but for the most part, it was set out in nature, and I loved that. The world building definitely could have been better, but I feel like we will see a lot more of that in the second book! I hope so, anyway. I would really like to know more about the world outside of the Ever Woods.

Erin Summerill has such a great way of writing her dialog. The characters had actual real, good, interesting conversations. I honestly prefer more dialog that means something than a ton of description.

Britta found out something about herself, as the summary states, that made here so much more powerful than she ever knew she could be. It was a really neat thing to learn about, and watch Britta really find out who she is. I do hope that we get a little more information on this portion of Britta’s life in the next book.

My only complaint was that this book did not drawn me in completely for a while. It took me a little bit to get through because of that. I ended up drawn in toward the end, but it took me a while to really get into it. But that does not say anything about the book overall. It was still a really strong YA fantasy!

The ending was pretty intense, and it set up for what I think will be a really great sequel! Right now, this will be a duology I believe. There are two confirmed books including this one at this time. I will definitely be continuing on with these books!

Overall, I really enjoyed this. For this to be Summerill’s debut novel, I cannot wait to see how far she goes!

Have you read this? What did you think?

Thanks for reading! (:

One thought on “Book Review: Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill -No Spoilers-

Leave a Reply

