January 2017 Reading Wrap Up!

Hi!

First wrap up of this year!

If you followed me over on blogspot, you would know that I used to do monthly TBRs. However, for this year, I have decided not to do TBR posts. I feel that trying to hold myself to a TBR makes me not want to read the books I picked out. I very much prefer reading a book then just picking whatever I feel like reading next. I will definitely still be posting my monthly wrap ups though!

I only read 4 books this month. I started a new job and it has been pretty hectic. I absolutely love my new job, so I’m okay with it. But I do wish I had more time to read. 😦 Hopefully February will be better!

18584855#1: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Thoughts: I loved this so much! I was hesitant because I am not the biggest Alice in Wonderland fan, but this completely blew me away. I loved the story of the Queen of Hearts. It really makes you see her in a whole new way.

I did do a full review of this that you can find here: https://katelynpdickinson.wordpress.com/2017/01/07/book-review-heartless-by-marissa-meyer-no-spoilers/

Rating: I gave this a 4.5/5 stars on Goodreads!

 

 

19547856#2: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Thoughts: I thought this was so good! Simon was such a lovable character. It really felt like you were inside his head reading this. The online romance was cute. It was fun trying to figure out who he was talking to the whole time.

 

I did a full review of this also, and you can find it here: https://katelynpdickinson.wordpress.com/2017/01/23/book-review-simon-vs-the-homo-sapiens-agenda-by-becky-albertalli-no-spoilers/

Rating: I gave this 4/5 stars on Goodreads!

18243700#3: The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass, 0.1-0.5)

Thoughts: I have not read any of the ToG series yet, I read this first because SJM said so. I really liked it! I do think I may have enjoyed it more had I already had a feel for Celaena’s personality, but I still really enjoyed this group of stories! The last story tore my heart in two. 😦 I cannot wait to start reading the actual series!

The Assassin and the Pirate Lord: 4/5 stars
The Assassin and the Healer: 3.5/5 stars
The Assassin and the Desert: 3.5/5 stars
The Assassin and the Underworld: 4/5 stars
The Assassin and the Empire: 4.5/5 stars

Rating: I gave this 3.9/5 stars on Goodreads. (Total after each individual rating.)

28114396#4: Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill (Clash of Kingdoms, #1)

Thoughts: I enjoyed this. There were small things that I didn’t love and things that could have definitely be better, but overall, the storyline was interesting. Britta was a great main character! I will definitely be reading the next book.

I did a full review on this one too, and you can find that here: https://katelynpdickinson.wordpress.com/2017/01/29/book-review-ever-the-hunted-by-erin-summerill-no-spoilers/

Rating: I gave this 3/5 stars on Goodreads!

 

Alright, there are the books I read in January!

Total of pages: 1,583

What did you read? What was your favorite??

Thanks for reading! (:

 

Leave a Reply

