Book Review: By Your Side by Kasie West – No Spoilers –

34325129By Your Side by Kasie West

Published: January 31st, 2017 by Harper Teen

Source: Hardcover, 342 pages

Summary: When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn at first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

Rating: I gave this one 4/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: I thought this book was so cute. Whenever I need a light and fluffy read, I always turn to contemporary. This is just the second book from Kasie West that I have read, but I can already tell her books will be those books to pull me out of slumps when needed. I was not in a slump for this one, but I had been reading a ton of fantasy, and sometimes that burns me out if I read too much too fast! So these light-hearted books are perfect for a change!

Okay, so let me talk about this book for a minute.

She got locked in the dang library!! That is literally every book lovers dream! Except for when the lights go out and then it gets creepy.. Ha but the thought of being surrounded by books for a whole weekend sounds like my own personal heaven! I was disappointed in the main character though.. She did not read at all, except for like once. Boo!

No, but I really enjoyed Autumn’s character. I thought that she grew a lot in such a short book. She discovered a lot about herself from just spending a couple days with someone that is completely different from herself. This book made a good show of a typical high school senior girl in Autumn for sure!

Dax was definitely our typical dark and mysterious handsome guy in the background, but hey, this is YA, so what else would we expect? Dax did stand out from the others though. Behind his closed off face, he really had a lot of depth. His story was sad, and the fact that he had to live through some of the things he did, I appreciated him more for it. He was actually pretty inspiring. I really enjoyed Dax as a character.

I can definitely say that this was one of those books where two unlikely people end up falling for each other.. blah, blah, blah. It was, but it was not annoying, or bad. Autumn and Dax did connect, but not in a lovey way at first. I really enjoyed reading them grow and learn about each other. They brought out the best, and some of the worst parts of each other. I can always enjoy reading about characters that challenge each other, and these two did.

This book does not directly promote itself as a book that visits mental health, but it does. Autumn has an anxiety disorder, and I thought that Kasie West did a great job of showing her readers how it feels to have anxiety. It is always a sensitive subject with mental health, no matter the extreme, and I thought this book did a really great job of not making it seem like something that just is. Anxiety IS a health problem. More so for some than others, but our main character had a pretty severe case, and this book did that justice. It is refreshing to read accurate representations of subjects like that.

The only problem I had with this book was Autumn’s friends. First of all, what kind of friends leave their friend in a library?! But aside from that, some of them were rude. Some of the characters, I felt had no meaning and some added literally zero to the storyline. For me, West could have cut out at least two of them to keep from having to also mention two random people whenever the group did something. Filler characters are important, sure, but only if they have a purpose, or at least more than three lines in a 300+ page book..

Overall, I really liked this book! Autumn ended up with the person I wanted her with, and it ended really good. Fluffy, happy, light reads are sometimes some of the best, and this was just what I needed!

Have you read this yet? What did you think?

Thanks for reading! (:

3 thoughts on “Book Review: By Your Side by Kasie West – No Spoilers –

Leave a Reply

