March 2017 Reading Wrap Up!

Hi friends!

March was another month of only reading 4 books, which is fine. I’m glad I made time for that many anyway! I had a decent month of reading. Still no 5 star reads yet, but I feel like April WILL be the month for that!

So let’s talk about what I read in March.

27883214#1: Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Thoughts: I loved this book! I thought it was so fun. So creepy and mysterious and magical at the same time. Definitely will be reading the next book in this series!

I did a full review for this one, and you can find it here: https://katelynpdickinson.wordpress.com/2017/03/09/book-review-caraval-by-stephanie-garber-no-spoilers/

Rating: I gave this 4/5 stars on Goodreads!

 

 

30649795#2: Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner

Thoughts: I am just going to post my exact review that I posted on Goodreads. I did have thoughts, but not enough to post an entire review, so here it is:

This book had a very strong topic, it educated people well about the dangers of texting and driving. Our main character sent a text to his best friends, and when his friend was responding, it caused them to have a fatal car accident. I had really high expectations for this book. I liked it, I didn’t love it. And it didn’t wow me like I thought it would.

It was definitely sad. I just had a few problems with the book. The main one being how immature the main character was, and all of his friends, actually. The book would show flash backs, and it was almost impossible to read sometimes for the gross, immature jokes that the boys made. I understand that they were high school boys, but still. Another problem for me is that I didn’t feel that the book was equally distributed between all of the boys that passed away. The main character had “Goodbye Days” for his best friends, but some of the boys had much more in depth “goodbye days” than the others.

I just didn’t feel completely connected to the main character, and for a book to talk about a topic like this, I feel like that would have made my rating go up quite a bit if I had just been able to connect with the character.

There are some really good qualities about it. The main character went through so much and grew a lot and learned a lot about himself in this book, and that’s always a really good thing to see in these kinds of books.

The book was definitely enjoyable and humorous and sad at the same time. It just wasn’t what I expected, exactly. I would still recommend it.

Rating: I gave this 3/5 stars on Goodreads!

6482837#3: Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

Thoughts: This book was pretty good. It held my attention for the most part. It was definitely very repetitive(which is the point, so that’s okay). I just honestly felt that it was WAY too long. 470 pages was pushing it. I wanted to know what happened at the end, and it just felt like it took entirely too long to get there. The ending was sort of worth the read. I expected more from it. These are typical mean girls, and although there was some redemption, it just wasn’t what I thought it should be. I expected more from the actual plot of the book.

I did enjoy it though! I thought the writing was super easy to read, and like I said, it was enjoyable. I am definitely looking forward to watching the movie adaptation and seeing how it compares!

Rating: I gave this 3.5/5 stars on Goodreads!

25701463#4: You’re Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner

Thoughts: Again, I am just going to post my Goodreads review because, again, I had some things to say, but not enough for an entire review. Here it is:

I don’t think I’ve ever read a book about a deaf main character, and that brought a lot to this story. It was interesting reading from her point of view and learning more about deaf culture. I thought this book was good! Super heavy on graffiti and art, which was also fun to read because I don’t read things like that often.
There were art pieces all throughout the book, and I love books that include illustrations! It just adds so much.

A 3 star rating from me is still a good book. A book I did enjoy, just didn’t absolutely love. This problems in this one for me were problems with the main character. Julia was a good character, but she just got so worked up, so fast. She was full of angst, and she got worked up way too much and too fast for some of the things that happened, in my opinion. It also took me a long time to get through this one. I liked the story, I just didn’t 100% connect with it, so it wasn’t a page-turner for me.

I did like it though! It touches on great elements and definitely has a good main storyline. I would recommend it if you’re in the mood for a different kind of contemporary!

Rating: I gave this 3/5 stars on Goodreads!

 

Okay, so those are the books I read in March! A pretty decent month, so I’m okay with it.

Total number of pages read: 1,564

What was your favorite read this month??

Thanks for reading! (:

Leave a Reply

