Book Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston – No Spoilers –

30724132Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Published: April 4, 2017 by Quirk Books

Source: Hardcover, 320 pages

Summary: Anything can happen once upon a con….

When geek girl Elle Wittimer sees a cosplay contest sponsored by the producers of Starfield, she has to enter. First prize is an invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. Elle’s been scraping together tips from her gig the Magic Pumpkin food truck behind her stepmother’s back, and winning this contest could be her ticket out once and for all – not to mention a fangirl’s dream come true.

Teen actor Darien Freeman is less than thrilled about this year’s ExcelsiCon. He used to live for conventions, but now they’re nothing but jaw-aching photo sessions and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Federation Prince Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the diehard Starfield fandom has already dismissed him just another heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, closet nerd Darien feels more and more like a fake – until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom.

Rating: I gave this 4.25/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: Look to the stars. Aim. Ignite.

Ahhh! Can I first say that this book did fandoms so good. It showed just how serious we get about our fandoms. I mean, this girl is the equivalent on how she feels about Starfield as I am about how I feel about Harry Potter. The fandom aspect was just so well written and it perfectly described how it felt to be in one that you care so deeply about. This book made me wish Starfield was a real thing. Now, I saw it more as a play on Star Wars, but still. I have never personally went to any sort of conventions, but I want to SO bad, and this book just made me want to go even more! It brought a whole new theme to YA that I definitely had not seen before.

The characters were so good. This book was full of unlikely friendships AND unlikely relationships, self discovery, and obviously family drama. Retellings are my favorite, especially Disney-related retellings. Elle was such a good character. She was down-to-earth and real. She didn’t do things because they were “what she was supposed to do”, and she was inspiring. I related a lot to Elle on so many levels. Not just about how much of a geek she was, but also the way her personality was and the way she felt on the inside. She felt lonely and weird, and I think most all of us have felt that way at some points in our lives, and that is okay. I saw myself in her multiple times throughout this book. One aspect especially, and that is that Elle is a blogger. She blogs about her love of Starfield, and although I don’t blog about a specific show or book series, I blog about books, because that’s what I love. Elle felt that no one really read her blog or really even cared what she had to say, but she really did not care because it was really just for her own self anyway. I feel the same way. Sometimes, I feel down about the fact that I don’t have many followers and I don’t get many views and hardly any comments, but then I realize that this is for me. To express my love of books and my thoughts on books and book-related things, and if other people find what I say interesting and worth reading, perfect! If not, that is totally okay. Elle just helped me to realize that a little better, so I really have to thank her for that. (: Oops. Got a little sappy there, so I’m just going to continue on with the review, anywayyy..

And Darien, oh heartthrob Darien. He was such a GOOD guy. And the way his character just stood out on the pages was great. He was so much more than just the pretty face that every one thought he was. It was fun to read from the perspective of a super star that was deep down truly just once of us, a nerd with a love for his fandom.

This was such a quick, light read that was just so fun. Like I said, I just really love retellings. The evil stepsisters were awful, as we all could expect. One of them made my blood boil, she was so awful. The other one.. well, I have different thoughts on her, but I don’t want to spoil anything, so I’ll just say that people really aren’t always as bad as we may think.

The self discovery in this book was so spot on. Not just for Elle, but for two of the other characters as well. One part took me completely by surprise, but it was good! I just love a good fluffy, feel-good book, and that is what this was!

If you’re on the search for something light and nerdy to read, pick this one up. I highly recommend! Loved it a lot!

If you’ve read this one, please leave me some comments down below. I want to know what you thought!

Thanks for reading! (:

One thought on “Book Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston – No Spoilers –

Leave a Reply

