Book Review: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli – No Spoilers –

30653853The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Published: April 11, 2017

Source: Hardcover, 338 pages

Summary: Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love – she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful.

Then a cute girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness – except for the part where she is.

Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

Right?

Rating: I gave this 5/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: I loved this so much!! This book is my first 5-star rating of 2017!! Finally! After reading Becky Albertalli’s first book I was worried that I wouldn’t like this one as much, but I was so wrong. I was crazy for even thinking that she would let me down!

This book was so relatable. First, I just want to talk about the main character, Molly. Molly is by far the character I have related to most in any book I’ve read. She’s just so down to earth. She has anxiety, she’s fat, she’s self conscious, and she’s different. Her struggles with boys was so real. I feel like every single high school girl can relate to Molly on some level, probably with boys. She was awkward, she didn’t know how to talk to them. She’s never been kissed, and she feels like she’s the only one in the world. Molly was such a real character that honestly isn’t done very often. But she was written so perfectly. I loved reading this and following her story and just waiting on her to really find herself. She was such a great, great character.

Reiddddd. I loved Reid!! He was just so cute and nerdy. I feel like if I knew Reid in person, we’d be best friends. He just is so real and does not care what other people think. He’s so sweet and funny. I won’t spoil anything else, so I’ll stop, but just know I love him. Haha!

This book was seriously diverse. I personally (and will probably get backlash for this) do not care about if a book is or is not diverse. If they are, great! If not, that’s fine too. Not every author has to write diversely. But anyway, off my soap box. This one was so diverse. There were multiple LGBT couples and the girls had two moms. It was a great read if you love diverse aspects.

Albertalli just did so many things right with this one. The sister relationship. So spot on!! I do not personally have a twin sister, but I do have a sister, and growing up, it was just me and her. The ups and downs Cassie and Molly had were so real. It is just nice to read such a realistic relationship between siblings sometimes rather than the usual, they either hate each other or absolutely love each other and never argue (yeah right!).

I just felt happy reading this book. It just made me smile literally almost the entire time. I just love a good contemporary. I cannot wait for her to write another book. Hurry pleaseee!!

Have you read this book yet? What were your thoughts?

Thanks for reading! (:

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli – No Spoilers –

Leave a Reply

