OwlCrate Unboxing – “Comic Explosion” – May 2017

Hello!

I know it has been a while since I’ve posted, but I have a real excuse this time. I haven’t finished a book YET this month. It is driving me insane, but I guess these awful slumps happen… so, let’s unbox this instead!

fullsizeoutput_bThis is OwlCrate!

Description: Owl Crate is a monthly subscription service that sends you magical monthly boxes tailored to a chosen theme. Each Owl Crate will contain one new Young Adult novel, as well as 3-5 other bookish treats to help you get your nerd on.

Price: $29.99 + $6.99 to the US, $10.59 shipping to Canada, and $19.99 shipping to anywhere else in the world.

 

First look!

fullsizeoutput_e

OwlCrate always has the most items! This month’s theme was “Comic Explosion!” Let’s get into it!

Harley Quinn Pop Figure by Funko!

IMG_3774

Thoughts: I love these figurines! I have a few various ones, so I’m happy to add this one to my collection! I know there were 7 different ones included in the boxes including, Harley Quinn, Loki, Batman, Captain America, Sailor Moon & Luna, Wonder Woman, and Deadpool. I secretly wish I would have gotten Deadpool, but that’s okay! I’m just glad I didn’t get one I already had!

Value: $9.95 at Barnes and Noble

Comic Attack 6 Click Multicolor Pen by OOLY

fullsizeoutput_13

Thoughts: I haven’t seen one of these in such a long time! The pen writes really well, and this just takes me back to middle school. I think it is neat, but it is sort of cheap to count as an item in the box..

Value: $1.95

Comic Zipper Pull (OwlCrate Exclusive!)

fullsizeoutput_14

Thoughts: Umm I have no idea when I would ever use this. Maybe I’ll use it on my keychain instead. Again, not a fan of this “item”.

Value: Unknown. Maybe $1.00?

Wonder Woman Adorable Size Candle by Dio Candle Company (OwlCrate Exclusive!)

fullsizeoutput_19

Thoughts: Adorable is so right! These are cute!! It really is pretty tiny haha. This smells so good. Smells like apples to me!

Value: $4.50

Premium Coffee Candy by Kafe

fullsizeoutput_1a

Thoughts: These are so good!! I couldn’t wait to photograph the box to try these. They were delicious!

Value: $1.79 per bag

Info Card + Button

fullsizeoutput_11

Awesome, as always!

AFAR by Leila Del Duca Chapter Sampler (OwlCrate Exclusive!)

fullsizeoutput_2a

Thoughts: This cover is beautiful! I have only read like two or three graphic novels, but the ones I have read, I have enjoyed so I will definitely give this a try! It seems to be sci-fi so that sounds interesting!

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia (OwlCrate Exclusive Cover!)

fullsizeoutput_3d

Summary: In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, she’s LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one, and she has no desire to try.

Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea‘s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and as he draws her out of her shell, she begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile.

But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built – her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity – begins to fall apart.

Thoughts: This sounds so interesting. It has tons of illustrations and comics inside and you all know I love mixed media in novels! Cannot wait to read this one. The “exclusive” cover has only very minor changes from the original, like the print that is yellow on this cover is green on the original (which I like better..) and the characters and talk bubbles are switched. I know Owlcrate means well, but unless it is an entirely different cover, I really don’y get the point of a font change or color change here and there.. seems sort of unnecessary. But that is just my opinion!!

Value: $17.99

Book Merchandise

fullsizeoutput_4b

Letter from the author, signed book plate, and exclusive art print by the author! Nice!

June Theme Reveal + Sneak Peek

fullsizeoutput_57

The theme for June is… “Make It Out Alive”! Sounds intriguing! Can’t wait!

Sneak Peek

fullsizeoutput_59

The sneak peek for this month is that we are all going to be getting an exclusive item from Fizzy Fairy Apothecary! I love bath bombs!! Can’t wait!

Total Value for Box: $37.18 (With zipper pull estimation)

I have to say.. I’m not impressed with this box. I’m excited about the book, and the pop figure is fine, but the other items are kind of just fillers, like the pen and the zipper pull. The value of this one is barely what you pay for the box, and that isn’t normal for OwlCrate. So hopefully, next month will be better!

If you are interested, head over to www.owlcrate.com and subscribe!

I hope you enjoyed my #OwlCrate unboxing!

Thanks for reading! (:

2 thoughts on “OwlCrate Unboxing – “Comic Explosion” – May 2017

Leave a Reply

