Book Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

31451174A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

Published: May 2nd, 2017 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Source: Hardcover, 705 pages

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, #3

Summary: (Per Goodreads)

A nightmare, I’d told Tamlin. I was the nightmare.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

Rating: I gave this 5/5 awesome stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: Okay, so I’m going to do a quick overview for those that have not read it without spoilers, but then I HAVE to talk spoilers guys. I just have to.

Okay, so first, I just want to say that I loved this, so much. I don’t know that I liked it better than ACOMAF, but it was definitely still 5-star worthy. SJM kills me with her writing. I honestly have never felt so connected to characters in a book series, literally ever. (Aside from HP, obviously.) The way she writes just makes me feel like I’m in her story, standing right beside Rhys. (heart eyes. One can only wish.) She describes everything so well and makes it so easy to be able to really see the characters and the world. And yes, it is fantasy, but it isn’t the type of fantasy where you get SO lost in the world. The world of Prythian is definitely complex in its own ways, but it is easy to keep up. You don’t have to read and reread to understand. I love that.

This story. Holy heart attack. I can’t handle the emotions SJM gives me, but I love it so so much! There were times that my heart genuinely hurt. Tears were shed.

Overall, this was an amazing book to add to this series, and I’m not sure where she’s taking it, but I cannot wait to find out. I had heard that this was the conclusion to Feyre’s story, but there are 3 more books, so I’m not really sure exactly how they are going to be approached, but either way, I’m just thankful for more time with these characters because I am NOT ready to let go.

If you haven’t read ACOTAR, please do yourself and favor and go buy it NOW!

***SPOILERS BELOW***

Ummm can we just.. take a breather? I literally just finished this moments ago, and I can’t really wrap my head fully around all that this book brought to this story.

I just want to talk about Lucien for a moment. I have always loved Lucien, and this book brought him out SO much. It was so refreshing to see him away from Tamlin and able to be his own person, because he is awesome. He impressed me quite a bit in this one.

Tamlin is a turd and will forever be a turd. He did redeem himself slightly, but uhhh still a turd. Haha!

Rhys. Like I love my boyfriend, more than anything, but can someone please get me a Rhysand of my own?! The love that exists between Feyre and Rhys is tangibleYou can just feel it. He holds her up on a pedestal at all times and encourages her and supports her regardless of her bad ideas or decisions. He puts her and their relationship above all, and it is honestly just really the best thing in the world. Today, all we see is toxic relationships in books and movies for the most part, and to see such a good relationship is just so refreshing. I cannot get enough of these two!

Can we talk Elain and Nesta?! Like can someone take Nesta off her high horse and her and Cassian just be together already?? Cassian is my favoriteeee!! I swear had anything happened to him, I wouldn’t have finished the book. I’m being dead serious. These two need to get together and Nesta needs to chill out.

Elain was so odd in this book, and I get why, but I just don’t feel like we got to see much of her, and maybe that was SJM’s plan for her in this one and will elaborate in the coming books, but I do wish Elain would have been more outspoken. Also, I ship Elain and Az.. like a lot. Haha. But at the same time, I really love Lucien and I really want Elain and Lucien together!

I also really liked the 3 creatures that played parts in this book. The Bone Carver (actually read sad about his death), the Weaver, and Bryaxis were all really awesome additions. They were awesome!!

Y’all. That dang Suriel almost ripped my heart out. Come on, SJM, why?! 😦

IANTHE IS DEAD. YAAAAAAS. Praise Him she’s gone! Gah I hated her so so much.

Farewell Hybern. You won’t be missed.

I still don’t trust Jurian. Not even a little bit.

Ummm if SJM ever tries to rip my heart out and take Rhys away again, I will die. That was awful!! I started tearing up, like immediately. Thank the Cauldron for the other High Lords. That was terrible. I know my blood pressure was high.

What I would like to see in the coming books is really just more information about Elain and Nesta and how being Fae really affects them. I want to see their relationships grow and for them to pick a dang Mate already! I really do hope that Lucien learns the truth about Helion being his dad, he deserves to know that. I want him to really find his place somewhere, whether it is in the Night Court or the Day Court or even back at the Spring Court with Tamlin, I just want him to find himself. I also, believe it or not, want Tamlin to find happiness and stop being a turd. Haha! I want to see how SJM carries on with the next 3 books. I am so curious to see what she does with them, because like I said, I am really confused about what or who they are supposed to be about. I am not ready to let go of these characters, at all.

Okay, well for now those are my thoughts. I don’t know how I’ll survive a whole year without Feysand in my life.

Have you read this? I hope so, if you’ve read down this far!

Let me know your thoughts. I’m dying to talk ACOWAR with someone!

Thanks for reading! (:

 

One thought on “Book Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

