Book Review: Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty -Spoiler Free-

25725759Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Published: December 25, 2014 by Berkley

Source: Paperback, 492 pages

Summary: Sometimes it’s the little lies that turn out to be the most lethal.

A murder… A tragic accident… Or just parents behaving badly? What’s indisputable is that someone is dead.

Madeline is a force to be reckoned with. She’s funny, biting, and passionate; she remembers everything and forgives no one. Celeste is the kind of beautiful woman who makes the world stop and stare, but she is paying a price for the illusion of perfection. New to town, single mom Jane is so young that another mother mistakes her for a nanny. She comes with a mysterious past and a sadness beyond her years. These three women are at different crossroads, but they will all wind up in the same shocking place.

Big Little Lies is a brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, mother and daughters, schoolyard scandal, and the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive.

Rating: I gave this one 4.5/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: This book was so good!! I haven’t really read hardly any adult murder mystery novels at all, so I was pretty anxious going into this one because it was new to me. I’m obviously an avid YA reader, but I have been wanting to get into the adult genre so this is a good step in that direction.

So this book was just full of drama, and hilarious drama at that. These women are insane! I am not a mom yet, so I guess I just cannot relate to this sort of life yet, but it was crazy just the way they were so drama filled over their children! I mean, I guess if my kid had problems with other kids at school, I could get crazy too, depending on the situation.

There was SO. MUCH. DRAMA. But I loved every second of it! It was so crazy. There were so many twists and turns in this book and some of them I literally never saw coming. It was just so good.

The characters. Such great characters. Madeline was absolutely insane. She was so dramatic, and I loved her so much. If I was a high society mom, I suppose I could see myself as her hahaha. She had a lot going on, but she was a force to be reckoned with, absolutely.

Celeste was so awesome. I wish I could have the strength she has. Going through the problems she was going through, I have no idea how she stood on her own two feet.

Jane. Poor little Jane. I felt so bad for her through this entire book. Her past is just so sad, and then she has so many obstacles thrown her way in this that I just wanted to hug her. Although, she was very pity-seeking I felt like, very “woe is me”. That was my only complaint honestly about the whole book is that Jane was a little annoying. I totally understand why she was the way she was, but part of me kind of was like “Okay, enough already” about halfway through the book.

The plot was so good. Like I said, just so many twists and turns. Moriarty’s writing has a way of just pulling you in and keeping you hooked. It took me a while to get through this, but really it didn’t. (I stopped reading it while I was reading ACOWAR). I finished it pretty quickly after that.

I really want to read more of her work. If you’ve read any of her other books, please give suggestions! I really want to know what else is good!

I don’t have too much more to say about this one, just because I don’t want to spoil, and this one is probably better going into it without much knowledge of what it is really all about.

If you’ve read this, I’d love to discuss with you!

Now to go binge watch the series on HBO! 😉

Thanks for reading! (:

Leave a Reply

