Book Review: One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus -Spoiler Free-

32571395One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus

Published: May 30, 2017 by Delacorte Press

Source: Hardcover, 368 pages

Summary: The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars, One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive.

Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.

Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention, Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

(Summary pulled from Goodreads.)

Rating: I gave this 4/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: I thought this was a good book! The summary obviously screams Breakfast Club and there really was some serious Pretty Little Liars vibes there too.

I always really love reading debut novels. Sometimes they are just so unbelievably good that there is no way it is the first time the author has published, and sometimes it is just kind of okay. This book falls somewhere in between the middle point and the really great point.

This book was great, and kept me wondering and trying to piece together information as I read, and I loved that! I love feeling involved in books. If I knew the whole time, or if I just didn’t care to find out who did it, then I probably wouldn’t have finished, but this did a great job of making you want to find out how it ends.

The whole plot was really well thought out. I feel like a murder mystery novel has potential to go all kinds of wrong. There are so many possibilities with how the story can go. This one went in places that I never really would have expected. Somewhere along the 3/4 point of this book, I expected part of the way it ended, but I still wasn’t sure, so when we found out what really happened, I was still pretty shocked.

The part about this book that is honestly kind of scary is that this could happen. Kids are mean! High school kids are mean, and some give zero cares about others as long as they themselves end up doing just fine, and this was definitely a point of discussion in this one.

The writing was good, like I said, I stayed interested. All of the characters were just so different and that made for a fun read too. Bronwyn was the brain, the valedictorian headed for Ivy League and then there was Nate, the criminal that would be doing good just to graduate. Both of these characters were so good and much more well-rounded than one would have thought.

Same for Addy and Cooper. The beauty and the athlete. Both had some pretty big secrets and those came back to bite them, but they both handled it in ways that I’m not sure I could have had I ever been in their shoes.

The ONLY big problem I had with this book is just that I could NOT picture the characters at all. I just saw blank faces. Nate and Cooper were both written as attractive, but I just could not see them in my mind. You guys know how you always have a person pictured in your mind while reading about the character (or maybe that is just me?), but for all of these, I just could not see them. I wish there had been better descriptions. But like I said, that is really the only problem I had with this one.

Overall, I enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it for someone in the mood for a light mystery novel. This definitely is not super in depth or anything, but it was a good light read that is easy to read and a quick finish.

If this was a tv show, I would binge watch it, for sure. I can see this one getting picked up for a movie or show in the near future.

Have you read this? What did you think?

Thanks for reading! (:

3 thoughts on “Book Review: One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus -Spoiler Free-

Leave a Reply

