Book Review: Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire -No Spoilers-

25526296Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

Published: April 5, 2016 by Tor.com

Source: Hardcover, 173 pages

Series: Wayward Children, #1

Summary: 

Eleanor West’s Home For Wayward Children

No solicitations.

No visitors.

No guests.

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions – slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells and emerging somewhere… else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The thing’s she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her newfound schoolmates to get to the heart of things. No matter the cost.

Rating: I gave this 5/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: Initially, this book was so strange. But so strange in such a good way!! This book honestly would have taken me a couple of hours to read in its entirety, but because of work and other things, I just didn’t have the time to sit and read it start to finish, because trust me, if I could have, I would have!

I started hearing so much about this book on BookTube, and I thought it sounded interesting, and unlike anything I had ever read before. That is exactly what this was. I wasn’t sure how I would feel about it, but it exceeded my expectations for sure.

The characters are so intriguing. I wasn’t sure about this because it is of such short length, but this author killed it in 173 pages. These characters were so well developed, and just so interesting. All of these kids were just so odd and misunderstood, and yet so understood in the environment of this school. It was just good. I did not expect to care for these characters as much as I do.

The writing is b-e-a-utiful, let me tell you. It is lyrical and just pretty. The writing really pulled me in automatically.

The plot was great. What I loved most about this book is that it had a full story. This is a murder mystery book, and it had a conclusion even though it was such a short story. There was no filler pages needed. The author had a story to tell, and she told it. Plain and simple, short and to the point. And I loved it, so much.

There was just something so different about this book. I think that it really why I enjoyed it so much. This sort of (kind of a little) reminds me of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, which could also be why I loved it so much. It definitely left me wanting more. Luckily, the second book, which is really a prequel to this story, just came out, and I will be taking a trip to Barnes & Noble ASAP to get it. I just want to know more. There are two books left in this series, and each one is supposed to follow different characters, but I’m okay with it. I can just hope for cameos to check on my favorite characters. I cannot wait. I am so here for this series.

Have you read this book? Thoughts?

Thanks for reading! (:

Leave a Reply

