Book Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon -No Spoilers-

28458598When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Published: May 30, 2017 by Simon Pulse

Source: Hardcover, 380 pages

Summary: Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Rating: I gave this a 4.5/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: This was so cute! This book made me feel so happy. It was definitely a perfect summer read!

The plot was really cute, and not something that I read hardly, with the arranged marriage plot line. It was also really neat to read more about the Indian culture! There were parts that really interested me!

The characters were the BEST.

Rishi is by far the sweetest male character I have ever read. He is the most cute and thoughtful boy I think I’ve read in a book in a long, long time. His dedication and love was unending. Perfect. He is much too good for this world. I could just pinch his cheeks. Shoot, I’ll date Rishi if Dimple doesn’t want him!

Dimple, on the other hand, got on my nerves at times. She was a little whiny and pretty stubborn sometimes. I think what bothered me most about her is how annoyingly violent she was. Not like meaning to hurt for real, but she was always hitting and punching Rishi, to the point where he said something about it. That annoys me in real life so I can relate to why he would be annoyed by it. Granted, I know that she had things to work through, and by the end of the story, I really liked Dimple. That girl is strong. She stands up for herself and what she believes, but sometimes she was just a little too head strong for her own good. She just had to really figure out who she was, and I think that was the point for someone her age. Like I said, I really liked her by the end!

The dynamic between these two were good though, it really was. They were just different enough and they complimented each other really well!

Side characters, I loved Celia and Ashish! They were both such great supporting characters, especially Ashish! Ashish is Rishi’s brother. He was so sweet! I enjoyed the brother relationship so much. What is it with these Patel boys?!

The humor in this book was the best! Some parts were just hilarious! I can always get behind a super cute and funny read!

Bottom line: this book was good. The message was good. The relationship was cute. The characters were great. The writing was fun.

Go read it!!

Have you read When Dimple Met Rishi? What are your thoughts if so?

Thanks for reading! (:

One thought on “Book Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon -No Spoilers-

Leave a Reply

