Book Review: The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

28218953The Thousandth Floor by Katherine McGee

Published: August 30, 2016

Source: Hardcover, 448 pages/ Audiobook through Audible.com narrated by Phoebe Strole

Summary: (From Goodreads)

New York City as you’ve never seen it before.

A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible—if you want it enough.

Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?

Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Amid breathtaking advancement and high-tech luxury, five teenagers struggle to find their place at the top of the world. But when you’re this high up, there’s nowhere to go but down…

Rating: I gave this an updated 4.5/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: This was my second time reading this book. I read it for the first time last October and loved it then! I’m not sure why I never posted a review because I loved this book! This review won’t be super long because I really just want to touch on how I felt about each main character/point of view. I feel like the less you know going into this one, the better it is!

This book is literally a futuristic Gossip Girl novel. I loved it so much! The futuristic tower is a really cool concept. All of these people living in a single tower and the floor you live on decides how much money you have or how popular you are. I enjoyed reading from perspectives in multiple levels of the tower.

The plot of this was fun and interesting. Full of lies and drama. Definitely not a very serious and deep novel, but a great one if you enjoy entertaining drama. The writing style was good and kept me wanting to find out how it would end.

Let’s talk characters, because I feel like that is really where the story is.

Avery Fuller- Avery is our main girl. Absolutely beautiful, and literally genetically perfect. Avery lives on the thousandth floor. I loved Avery. The relationship she has with her crush is awkward for me to read.. I don’t want to say much because I don’t want to spoil, but I will leave a small comment at the end of the review just in case it would make this novel a total “no” for some people. Other than her weird relationship, I liked Avery. Even though everyone seen Avery as “perfect”, she really hated that word, and truthfully, I think Avery would have liked nothing better than to be more normal. She was pretty down to earth underneath all of the wealth, and I liked her!

Watt Bakradi- I loveddd Watt! Poor guy always got himself into tight situations, but I really liked him.  He is so snarky and funny, he was a fun character to read from. He was a lower floor character, and that made it really interesting to see the differences in the types of people we were reading about.

Rylin Myers- Rylin lives on the lowest floor from any of the other characters. Rylin has no money and doing all she can to provide for her little sister since her mom passed away. I liked Rylin. I thought Rylin made some really stupid decisions, but I think that she only did the things she did because she thought it was best. I liked her!

Eris Dodd-Radson- Eris is probably one of my favorite characters aside from Avery. She is funny and sweet. Her life kind of falls apart and she is forced to change her entire way of doing things, and at first, she acts like a spoiled brat about it, but after a while, she really changes and becomes a much better person. I loved Eris’s character.

Leda Cole – HATE. She makes my blood boil. I hope someone throws her off the tower in the next book. That is all I have to say about her.

Ughhh. This book is full of secrets, lies, drama, and craziness. I was not happy with the way it ended at all. I don’t understand why it had to end the way it did. But I am super excited to see what the next book does with these characters!! The Dazzling Heights comes out next month and I cannot wait!

!!WARNING!! SPOILERS BELOW. (Not a huge spoiler, just about what I mentioned I would say about Avery in her paragraph!)

Okay, so I just wanted to mention that Avery is in love with her stepbrother. I know that it is her stepbrother and they aren’t technically related, but for me, it was still awkward and gross to read. So if that is something that grosses you out to where you could not handle reading this, then this may not be for you..

SPOILERS OVER! (:

Have you read this book?? Let me know what you think!

Thanks for reading! (:

One thought on “Book Review: The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

Leave a Reply

