Book Review: Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia – No Spoilers –

31931941Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

Published: May 30, 2017

Source: Hardcover, 385 pages

Summary: Her story is a phenomenon. Her life is a disaster.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, she’s LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one, and she has no desire to try.

Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea’s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and as he draws her out of her shell, she begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile.

But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

Rating: I gave this 5/5 stars on Goodreads!

Thoughts: I adored this book. It was so different from things that I have read. The web comic aspect really intrigued me. I loved the illustrations throughout so much!! You all know that I love me some mixed media novels. This had illustrations and IMs and chat rooms and texts. All kinds of fun stuff. I could not have asked for more with this book.

Eliza is an amazing main character. I am not creative, sadly, but I relate to Eliza so much. She is highly introverted, as am I. I would take reading a book in my room by myself any day over going out and entertaining a group of people. Sometimes, I don’t like that I am that way, but at the end of the day, that is me, and I’m not changing! I’m okay with that. Eliza is the same. She has friends, but only online. She only goes to school just so that she could get into college and she has no friends at school. She is seen as “weird, strange, creepy”. Honestly, I felt bad for Eliza. I couldn’t imagine being treated the way she was. It really was sad. But then we watch her evolve into this really well-rounded character. She really is able to find herself throughout the span of this novel, maybe not in the best ways, but she does, and I think it was amazing, and really important.

Wallace. Sweet, Wallace. He also finds himself. He and Eliza are the best. I think they complemented each other so well. The ups and downs were real life, and I liked that. Seeing a couple that both suffers from anxiety was really interesting to read. It made the story seem so much more real and personal. I loved it.

I loved Eliza’s online friends, Max and Emmy. They were hilarious! So much fun. They always had the best lines, and fun things to talk about and say to Eliza.

The web comic seemed so interesting! I want it to be made into a real think. Please, Francesca?!

The illustrations were so so good. So beautifully created.

The writing was just so good. So easy to read and it really drew me in. There was just something about this book that made me want to read it from cover to literal cover.

Ahh this book was just good. A great story of growing up and facing things that you would have never thought would happen. I remember being in high school and making what I thought were hard decisions back then, about school and my life and where I was headed. I remember the stress of it all. I don’t think I could have handled being in Eliza’s shoes. I think that is what I loved most about this book is that it had real life issues that I think a lot of people can relate to.

Loved it! 5/5 stars. 100/100!

Have you read this yet?? What are your thoughts? I would love to know!

Thanks for reading! (:

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia – No Spoilers –

  1. delphinethebabbler says:

    Wonderfully written review! I just finished reading this book yesterday and WOW – I totally see what all the hype was about now! Eliza is such a relatable character, I see so much of myself in her. And I really like how the author didn’t leave out Eliza’s parents from the story, which seems to be the case with most YA novels.
    The only part I didn’t really like was towards the end when Wallace finds out Eliza’s ‘true identity’ and then the fact that he basically holds her responsible for his future… so not cool.
    Anyway, I look forward to reading more from you in the future… Happy Reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

