July 2017 Reading Wrap Up!

Hello!

Ahhh July was such a great month of reading for me!! Finally, I felt like I read a lot of really great books. Let’s talk about them!

32828538#1: Lost Boy: The True Story of Captain Hook by Christina Henry

Thoughts: I enjoyed this one. The story of Captain Hook isn’t told very often, and it was really interesting reading more about it! This shines a whole new light on Peter Pan. Some people may not appreciate the way Peter is portrayed, but I personally enjoyed the twist. I would definitely recommend this one for anyone interested in reading about how a villain came to be.

Full review here!

Rating: I gave this 3/5 stars on Goodreads!

 

28218953#2: The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

Thoughts: This was a reread for me in preparation for The Dazzling Heights in August. I enjoyed it even more the second time around and I really cannot wait until the second book release! This is literally a futuristic Gossip Girl meets Pretty Little Liars. So good!

Full review here!

Rating: I gave this 4.5/5 stars on Goodreads!

 

 

 

25756328#3: Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans-Welch

Thoughts: This was such a cute summer read! Desserts, love, an absolutely beautiful setting. What can go wrong? So cute!

Full review here!

Rating: I gave this 4/5 stars on Goodreads!

 

 

 

 

 

10710392#4: Chopsticks by Jessica Anthony, Illustrated by Rodrigo Corral

Thoughts: This is definitely unlike anything I have read before. This is told completely in pictures and IM chats. This is much more psychological than I expected it to be. I never saw the twist coming. It took me less than an hour to get through this one, being that it is mostly all photos, but the story it told was so interesting and confusing that I feel like I could reread this right now and pick up more things that I didn’t see the first time. If you want something a little different, pick this up. It is worth a read, for sure!

Rating: I gave this 4/5 stars on Goodreads!

15797938#5: The Dinner by Herman Koch

Thoughts: This book stumps me. Because I didn’t like it, but I liked it at the same time.. The side stories away from “the dinner” made you wonder what the heck was happening, but by the end of it, I usually thought “Okay, and?”. Some of the side stories didn’t make any sense. The ending was very strange.. and I want to say that this book was so good, because parts really were, and the underlying story behind the whole thing really was good, but overall, this one just did not blow me away. I wanted the ending to bring it all together and completely blow me away, but it just didn’t. The ending made me want more, and the sad part is that only the ending made me feel that way. I want to rate this a little higher, but there is just so many things that I didn’t like, so I can’t. Because 3 stars to me means I liked it enough to do a full review. I didn’t get there with this book.

The main characters had so many issues. And Paul’s character just bothered me so bad. He complained and griped about every little thing throughout the whole book and it just irritated me. By the end of it, I understand what kind of character the author intended him to be (I think?), but I couldn’t really connect to him at all.

I really don’t like leaving bad reviews, especially on books that could have been so much better! Blah.

Rating: I gave this 2.5/5 stars on Goodreads!

31931941#6: Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

Thoughts: This book was so good!! I adored every single second of this. A story about a girl that writes a web comic with illustrations throughout and mixed media. Sounds perfect for me, and it was! Loved it so much!

Full review here!

Rating: I gave this 5/5 stars on Goodreads!

 

 

 

 

30971685#7: The Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy 

Thoughts: This book was so interesting. I was pulled in from the very beginning. This book is so different than really anything that I have ever read. The plot was so well thought out and honestly never had a dull or lagging moment. Absolutely loved this! Definitely pick it up if you have not!

I am planning to do a full review of this in the coming week, so watch for that!

Rating: I gave this 5/5 stars on Goodreads!

 

 

Alright guys, those are the books I read in July! I am honestly pretty proud of my reading month. This was a really very busy month for me, so that makes it even more surprising that I read this much!

Total pages read: 2,507!

Have you guys read any of these books? Let me know in the comments what your favorite read of July was!

Thanks for reading! (:

Leave a Reply

